Daniel Belknap (1771-1815) : The Collected Works book cover
1st Edition

Daniel Belknap (1771-1815)
The Collected Works

  • This product is currently out of stock.
ISBN 9780815324102
Published February 1, 1999 by Routledge
184 Pages

FREE Standard Shipping
USD $62.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

Daniel Belknap was a farmer, mechanic, and singing-master in Framingham, Massachusetts, who compiled four sacred and one secular tunebooks. These featured his own sacred compositions as well as those by other New England composers. While Belknap was not as flamboyant, prolific, nor as innovative as his contemporaries, he nevertheless provided fitting and eloquent religious and social music for his own and neighboring communities.

Table of Contents

Introduction * The Collected Works of Daniel Belknap * Abbreviations and Short Titles * Commentary * Index of Tune Names * Index of First Lines

View More



Daniel Warren Steel- Editor