1st Edition

Electoral Territoriality in Southern Africa

By Stephen Rule Copyright 2000

    This title was first published in 2000. A comprehensive comparison of voting patterns in seven countries of Southern Africa. The modern democratic electoral histories of Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe are placed within the contexts of their pre-colonial and colonial polities. The extent to which urbanization and the regional distribution of language, ethnicity and race impacts on the electoral geography of the sub-continent is demonstrated statistically and cartographically. The analysis is complemented by anecdotal evidence gathered during personal interviews and discussions with voters, politicians, government officials and academics.

    List of Tables, List of Figures, Preface, Acronyms, 1. Factors Influencing Voting Behaviour, 2. Botswana, 3. Zambia, 4. Zimbabwe, 5. Namibia, 6. South Africa, 7. Lesotho, 8. Swaziland, 9. Conclusions: Electoral Territorialism


    Stephen Rule