England in the Later Middle Ages: 1st Edition (Hardback) book cover

England in the Later Middle Ages

1st Edition

By K.H. Vickers


568 pages

Purchasing Options:$ = USD
Paperback: 9781138605466
pub: 2020-01-01
Available for pre-order. Item will ship after 1st January 2020
Hardback: 9781138605459
pub: 2018-11-21
eBook (VitalSource) : 9780429462788
pub: 2018-08-06
from $25.00

FREE Standard Shipping!


First published in 1950 in its 7th edition, this volume became a standard work. Covering 213 years, it begins with Edward I and proceeds through events including the Black Death and the Hundred Years War to Edward IV. In doing so, the author balanced political, constitutional, social and economic aspects of England’s national evolution.

Table of Contents

1. Chapter I. The Legal Reorganisation of Edward I. (1272-1307). 2. Chapter II. The Conquest of Wales (1275-1294). 3. Chapter III. Foreign and Domestic Affairs (1275-1290). 4. Chapter IV. The Scottish Succession and Complications with France (1286-1304). 5. Chapter V. Internal Complications (1279-1306). 6. Chapter VI. The Scottish Rebellion and the Lords Ordainers (1306-1313). 7. Chapter VII. The Decline and Fall of Edward II. (1313-1327). 8. Chapter VIII. The Rule of Mortimer and the Scottish War (1327-1340). 9. Chapter IX. The Quarrel with France (1328-1343). 10. Chapter X. Crecy, Calais, and the Black Death (1343-1349). 11. Chapter XI. Poictiers and Bretigny (1350-1360). 12. Chapter XII. The War after Bretigny (1360-1377). 13. Chapter XIII. Political and Religious Problems (1333-1377). 14. Chapter XIV. Political Rivalries and the Great Revolt (1377-1381). 15. Chapter XV. The Crown and the Lords Appellant (1381-1389). 16. Chapter XVI. The Despotism of Richard II. (1389-1399). 17. Chapter XVII. "The Unquiet Time of Henry IV." (1399-1405). 18. Chapter XVIII. The Triumph of Henry IV and the Struggle of Parties (1405-1413). 19. Chapter XIX. Henry V and the French War (1413-1421). 20. Chapter XX. The Failure of Henry V (1417-1422). 21. Chapter XXI. Government by Council (1422-1435). 22. Chapter XXII. Party Politics and the End of the Hundred Years’ War (1435-1453). 23. Chapter XXIII. The Beginnings of York and Lancaster (1450-1459). 24. Chapter XXIV. Edward IV King and Exile (1459-1470). 25. Chapter XXV. The Close of the Middle Ages (1470-1485).

About the Series

Routledge Revivals

Are there elusive titles that you need and have been trying to source for years but thought that you would never be able to find?

Well this may be the end of your quest – here is a fantastic opportunity for you to discover past brilliance and purchase previously out of print and unavailable titles by some of the world’s most eminent academic scholars.

Drawing from over 100 years of innovative, cutting-edge publishing, Routledge Revivals is an exciting programme whereby key titles from the distinguished and extensive backlist of the many acclaimed imprints associated with Routledge will be re-issued.

The programme draws upon the illustrious backlists of Kegan Paul, Trench & Trubner, Routledge & Kegan Paul, Methuen, Allen & Unwin and Routledge itself.

Routledge Revivals spans the whole of the Humanities and Social Sciences, and includes works by some of the world’s greatest thinkers including Emile Durkheim, Max Weber, Simone Weil, Martin Buber, Karl Jaspers and Max Beloff.

If you are interested in Revivals in the Behavioral Sciences, please visit https://www.routledge.com/series/PSYREVIVALS

Learn more…

Subject Categories

BISAC Subject Codes/Headings:
HISTORY / General