European Union: The Basics: 2nd Edition (Paperback) book cover

European Union: The Basics

2nd Edition

By Alex Warleigh-Lack


192 pages

Purchasing Options:$ = USD
Paperback: 9780415414678
pub: 2008-09-23
SAVE ~$5.19
Hardback: 9780415414661
pub: 2008-09-23
SAVE ~$24.00
eBook (VitalSource) : 9780203891063
pub: 2008-09-25
from $12.98

FREE Standard Shipping!


Fully updated to include the new Treaty of Lisbon, this is the best short and accessible introduction to the politics of the European Union, written by one of the world's most well-known authorities in the area. Ideal starting reading for students and the general reader, it explains in clear jargon-free language:

  • the EU's development to date
  • how the EU works, and why it works this way
  • the EU's major policies
  • the EU's biggest problems and controversies
  • the EU's likely evolution in the coming years.

The new edition builds on the strengths of the previous edition and now includes extra material on:

  • the Treaty of Lisbon
  • the EU's development since 2003, including its enlargements in 2004 and 2007
  • recent EU policies and rule changes
  • the EU's role in the world.

Key features to help learning and understanding are:

  • boxed descriptions of key issues and events
  • a guide to further reading at the end of each chapter
  • a glossary of key terms, concepts and people
  • helpful appendices about the EU's member states and good internet sources.

Table of Contents

1. Introduction 2. The Evolution of European Integration 3. Institutions and Decision-making in the European Union 4. Key Policies of the European Union 5. Current Controversies in European Integration 6. Which Future for the European Union? Glossary Appendix I: Internet Sources of Information Appendix II: List of Member States, with Voting Weights and Number of MEPs

About the Author

Alex Warleigh-Lack is Professor of Politics and International Relations at Brunel University. He is Chair of UACES, the University Association for Contemporary European Studies, between 2006 and 2009, and has given policy advice to politicians, governments and research funders across Europe. This is his ninth book.

About the Series

The Basics

The Basics is a highly successful series of accessible guidebooks which provide an overview of the fundamental principles of a subject area in a jargon-free and undaunting format.

Intended for students approaching a subject for the first time, the books both introduce the essentials of a subject and provide an ideal springboard for further study. With over 50 titles spanning subjects from Artificial Intelligence to Women’s Studies, The Basics are an ideal starting point for students seeking to understand a subject area.

Each text comes with recommendations for further study and gradually introduces the complexities and nuances within a subject.

Learn more…

Subject Categories

BISAC Subject Codes/Headings: