Fanny Hensel: A Research and Information Guide, 1st Edition (Hardback) book cover

Fanny Hensel

A Research and Information Guide, 1st Edition

By Laura K. T. Stokes


136 pages

Purchasing Options:$ = USD
Hardback: 9781138237407
pub: 2019-03-26
SAVE ~$14.85
Available for pre-order

FREE Standard Shipping!


Fanny Hensel: A Research and Information Guide provides scholars in Hensel studies with a resource to navigate the research surrounding the composer’s over 450 musical works. As part of the larger blossoming of women’s music history, new research in the 1980s and 1990s promoted an awareness of Hensel’s output, in particular in the genres of the lied and the solo piano work. This research guide includes an introductory chapter, a summary paragraph at the beginning of each chapter, and annotations for more than 500 entries, focusing on scholarly works as well as selected articles from trade publications, catalogs, and Internet resources.

Table of Contents

Introduction / 1. Biographies / 2. Conversations within Hensel Scholarship / 3. Sources, Documentary Studies, and Catalogs / 4. Letters, Documents, and Memoirs / 5. Studies of Works and Genres / 6. Compositional Influences / 7. Cultural Studies / Index of Hensel’s Compositions / Index of Authors / General Index

About the Author

Laura K. T. Stokes is the Performing Arts Librarian and head of the Orwig Music Library at Brown University, where she is also intermittently a lecturer in music. She was recently Chair/Past-Chair of the New England Music Library Association and an assistant editor for the Music Library Association's Notes.

About the Series

Routledge Music Bibliographies

Learn more…

Subject Categories

BISAC Subject Codes/Headings:
MUSIC / General