Fifty Key Figures in Queer US Theatre  book cover
1st Edition

Fifty Key Figures in Queer US Theatre

ISBN 9781032067964
Published September 1, 2022 by Routledge
270 Pages

FREE Standard Shipping
USD $36.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

Whether creating Broadway musicals, experimental dramas, or outrageous comedies, the performers, directors, playwrights, designers, and producers profiled in this collection have contributed to the representation of LGBTQ lives and culture in a variety of theatrical venues, both within the queer community and across the US theatrical landscape.

Moving from the era of the Stonewall Riots to today, notable scholars in the field bring a wide variety of queer theatre artists into conversation with each other, exploring connections and differences in race, gender, physical ability, national origin, class, generation, aesthetic modes, and political goals, creating a diverse and inclusive study of 50 years of queer theatre.

For readers seeking an introduction to or a deeper understanding of LGBTQ theatre, this volume offers thought-provoking analyses of theatre-makers both celebrated and lesser-known, mainstream and subversive, canonical and new.

Table of Contents


Jimmy A. Noriega and Jordan Schildcrout

Reza Abdoh

Joseph Cermatori

Luis Alfaro

Patricia Ybarra

Kate Bornstein

Rye Gentleman

Sharon Bridgforth

T. Chester

Charles Busch

Sean F. Edgecomb

Jane Chambers

Sara Warner

Ellie Covan

Jeff McMahon

Will Davis

Joshua Bastian Cole

Ty Defoe (Giizhig)

Courtney Elkin Mohler

Snehal Desai

Dan Bacalzo

Harvey Fierstein

Jordan Schildcrout

William Finn

Ryan Donovan

The Five Lesbian Brothers: Moe Angelos, Babs Davy, Dominique Dibbell, Peg Healey, and Lisa Kron

Lisa Sloan

María Irene Fornés

Gwendolyn Alker

John Glines

Jordan Schildcrout

David Greenspan

Nick Salvato

Jeremy O. Harris

David Román

Rachel Hauck

Stacy Wolf

Chisa Hutchinson

La Donna L. Forsgren

Michael R. Jackson

Aviva Helena Neff

Bill T. Jones

Ariel Nereson

Moisés Kaufman

Bess Rowen

Tony Kushner

Virginia Anderson

Tina Landau

David Román

Nathan Lane

James F. Wilson

Haruna Lee

Jessica Del Vecchio

Joan Lipkin

Gad Guterman

Charles Ludlum

Joe E. Jeffreys

Taylor Mac

Sean F. Edgecomb

Joe Mantello

James F. Wilson

Tarell Alvin McCraney

Isaiah Matthew Wooden

Terrence McNally

Virginia Anderson

Muriel Miguel

Christy Stanlake

Cherríe Moraga

Alicia Arrizón

Daaimah Mubashshir

Adam Ashraf Elsayigh

The NEA Four: Karen Finley, John Fleck, Holly Hughes, and Tim Miller

Jimmy A. Noriega and Jordan Schildcrout

Robert O’Hara

Faedra Chatard Carpenter

Monica Palacios

Marci R. McMahon

Miguel Piñero

Karen Jaime

Billy Porter

Eric M. Glover

Clint Ramos

Jimmy A. Noriega

Guillermo Reyes

Jimmy A. Noriega

Edwin Sánchez

Analola Santana

Leigh Silverman

Bess Rowen

Ana María Simo

Virginia Baeta

Split Britches: Peggy Shaw, Lois Weaver, and Deb Margolin

Benjamin Gillespie

Paula Vogel

Sara Warner

Ron Whyte

Patrick McKelvey

George C. Wolfe

Charles I. Nero

BD Wong

Esther Kim Lee

Chay Yew

Dan Bacalzo

View More



Jimmy A. Noriega is Professor of Theatre at the College of Wooster and President of the American Society for Theatre Research. He is the co-editor of Theatre and Cartographies of Power: Repositioning the Latina/o Americas (2008) and the founder of Teatro Travieso/Troublemaker Theatre.

Jordan Schildcrout is Professor of Theatre & Performance at SUNY Purchase and author of In the Long Run: A Cultural History of Broadway’s Hit Plays (Routledge, 2020) and Murder Most Queer: The Homicidal Homosexual in the American Theater (2014).


"In this compendium of elegantly crafted essays from leading and emerging voices in queer theater and performance studies, Noriega and Schildcrout have assembled a rich and diverse survey of queer theater makers in the half-century since Stonewall. An informative read and immensely useful resource for scholars and practitioners of the queer stage alike." — Joshua Chambers-Letson, Northwestern University, USA.