Fifty Major Political Thinkers  book cover
2nd Edition

Fifty Major Political Thinkers

ISBN 9780415400992
Published June 6, 2007 by Routledge
264 Pages

FREE Standard Shipping
USD $44.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

Fifty Major Political Thinkers introduces the lives and ideas of some of the most influential figures in Western political thought, from ancient Greece to the present day. The entries provide a fascinating introduction to the major figures and schools of thought that have shaped contemporary politics, including:

  • Aristotle
  • Simone de Beauvoir
  • Michel Foucault
  • Mohandas Gandhi
  • Jurgen Habermas
  • Machiavelli
  • Karl Marx
  • Thomas Paine
  • Jean-Jacques Rousseau
  • Mary Wollstonecraft.

Fully cross-referenced and including a glossary of theoretical terms, this wide-ranging and accessible book is essential reading for anyone with an interest in the evolution and history of contemporary political thought.

Table of Contents

1. Plato  2. Aristotle  3. St Augustine of Hippo  4. John of Salisbury  5. St Thomas Aquinas  6. Marsilius of Padua  7. Machiavelli  8. Thomas More  9. Thomas Hobbes  10. James Harrington  11. John Locke  12. David Hume  13. Montesquieu  14. Jean-Jacques Rousseau  15. Immanuel Kant  16. Johann Gottfried Herder  17. Tom Paine  18. Edmund Burke  19. Mary Wollstonecraft  20. William Goodwin  21. G.F.W. Hegel  22. Jeremy Bentham  23. Fourier  24. Karl Marx  25. Alexis de Tocqueville  26. J.S. Mill  27. Herbert Spencer  28. T.H.Green  29. Friedrich Nietszche  30. Prince Peter Kropotkin  31. Georges Sorel  32. Eduard Bernstein  33. Vladimir Ilich Lenin  34. Max Weber  35. Marcus Garvey  36. Benito Mussolini  37. Hannah Arendt  38. Isaiah Berlin  39. Friedrich von Hayek  40. Mohandas Gandhi  41. Sir Karl Popper  42. Michael Oakeshott  43. Simone de Beauvoir  44. Herbert Marcuse  45. Michel Foucault  46. John Rawls  47. Arne Naess  48. Robert Nozick  49. Jurgen Habermas  50. Jean Francois Lyotard

View More



Ian Adams is Honorary Fellow at the University of Durham

R.W. Dyson is a Lecturer in the School of Government and International Affairs at the University of Durham.