Figures of Division : William Faulkner's Major Novels book cover
1st Edition

Figures of Division
William Faulkner's Major Novels

ISBN 9781138105669
Published June 18, 2019 by Routledge
258 Pages

FREE Standard Shipping
SAVE $7.99
was $39.95
USD $31.96

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

Originally published in 1986. William Faulkner’s major novels represent one of the earliest American explorations into the paradoxes inherent in both literary discourse and racial segregation in the American South. Figures of Division demonstrates that these works reject conventional divisions and a social and linguistic deception, and discover a reality where people merge across social boundaries. This analysis of Faulkner’s narrative discourse shows for the first time that the mechanisms of social division profoundly affect both the content and the form of his major novels.

Table of Contents

Preface;  Acknowledgements;  1. Introduction  2. The Sound and the Fury (1929)  3. As I Lay Dying (1930)  4. Light in August (1932)  5. Absalom, Absalom! (1936)  6. The Hamlet (1940)  7. Go Down, Moses (1942)  8. Conclusion: The Late Novels;  Index

View More