Football Delirium: 1st Edition (Paperback) book cover

Football Delirium

1st Edition

By Chris Oakley

Routledge

216 pages

Purchasing Options:$ = USD
Paperback: 9781780491820
pub: 2012-12-31
$22.95
x
eBook (VitalSource) : 9780429474828
pub: 2018-04-19
from $11.48


FREE Standard Shipping!

Description

In the tradition of Adam Phillips and Darian Leader, Chris Oakley shines his spotlight on the world of football and with wit and erudition looks at the question of why there is this worldwide preoccupation with football. Does anybody have the answer? This book argues that football offers us the possibility of manageable doses of self-elected madness. A madness that is essential for a sane life. For the paradox is that this very madness is simultaneously therapeutic: football as an insistent provocation, repeatedly re-inaugurating the reverie or drift, disrupted by those moments of the most intense fracture, moments of the autistic stare.

Subject Categories

BISAC Subject Codes/Headings:
PSY000000
PSYCHOLOGY / General