Handbook of Nanophysics : Clusters and Fullerenes book cover
1st Edition

Handbook of Nanophysics
Clusters and Fullerenes

Edited By

Klaus D. Sattler

ISBN 9781138115101
Published August 30, 2017 by CRC Press
912 Pages 16 Color & 732 B/W Illustrations

FREE Standard Shipping
SAVE $16.99
was $84.95
USD $67.96

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

The field of nanoscience was pioneered in the 1980s with the groundbreaking research on clusters, which later led to the discovery of fullerenes. Handbook of Nanophysics: Clusters and Fullerenes focuses on the fundamental physics of these nanoscale materials and structures. Each peer-reviewed chapter contains a broad-based introduction and enhances understanding of the state-of-the-art scientific content through fundamental equations and illustrations, some in color.

This volume covers free clusters, including hydrogen, bimetallic, silicon, metal, and atomic clusters, as well as the cluster interactions. The expert contributors examine how carbon fullerenes are produced and how to characterize their stability. They discuss the structure, properties, and behavior of carbon fullerenes, including the smallest possible fullerene: C20. The book also looks at inorganic fullerenes, such as boron fullerenes, silicon fullerenes, nanocones, and onion-like inorganic fullerenes.

Nanophysics brings together multiple disciplines to determine the structural, electronic, optical, and thermal behavior of nanomaterials; electrical and thermal conductivity; the forces between nanoscale objects; and the transition between classical and quantum behavior. Facilitating communication across many disciplines, this landmark publication encourages scientists with disparate interests to collaborate on interdisciplinary projects and incorporate the theory and methodology of other areas into their work.

Table of Contents

Free Clusters
Nanocluster Nucleation, Growth, and Size Distributions, Harry Bernas and Roch Espiau de Lamaestre
Structure and Properties of Hydrogen Clusters, Julio A. Alonso and Jose I. Martinez
Mercury: From Atoms to Solids, Elke Pahl and Peter Schwerdtfeger
Bimetallic Clusters, Rene Fournier
Endohedrally Doped Silicon Clusters, Nele Veldeman, Philipp Gruene, Andre Fielicke, Pieterjan Claes, Vu Thi Ngan, Minh Tho Nguyen, and Peter Lievens
The Electronic Structure of Alkali and Noble Metal Clusters, Bernd v. Issendorff
Photoelectron Spectroscopy of Free Clusters, Maxim Tchaplyguine, Gunnar Ohrwall, and Olle Bjorneholm
Photoelectron Spectroscopy of Organic Clusters, Masaaki Mitsui and Atsushi Nakajima
Vibrational Spectroscopy of Strongly Bound Clusters, Philipp Gruene, Jonathan T. Lyon, and Andre Fielicke
Electric and Magnetic Dipole Moments of Free Nanoclusters, Walt A. de Heer and Vitaly V. Kresin
Quantum Melting of Hydrogen Clusters, Massimo Boninsegni
Superfluidity of Clusters, Francesco Paesani
Intense Laser–Cluster Interactions, Karl-Heinz Meiwes-Broer, Josef Tiggesbaumker, and Thomas Fennel
Atomic Clusters in Intense Laser Fields, Ulf Saalmann and Jan-Michael Rost
Cluster Fragmentation, Florent Calvo and Pascal Parneix

Clusters in Contact
Kinetics of Cluster–Cluster Aggregation, Colm Connaughton, R. Rajesh, and Oleg Zaboronski
Surface Planar Metal Clusters, Chia-Seng Chang, Ya-Ping Chiu, Wei-Bin Su, and Tien-Tzou Tsong
Cluster–Substrate Interaction, Miguel A. San-Miguel, Jaime Oviedo, and Javier F. Sanz
Energetic Cluster–Surface Collisions, Vladimir Popok
Molecules and Clusters Embedded in Helium Nanodroplets, Olof Echt, Tilmann D. Mark, and Paul Scheier

Production and Stability of Carbon Fullerenes
Plasma Synthesis of Fullerenes, Keun Su Kim and Gervais Soucy
HPLC Separation of Fullerenes, Qiong-Wei Yu and Yu-Qi Feng
Fullerene Growth, Jochen Maul
Production of Carbon Onions, Chunnian He and Naiqin Zhao
Stability of Charged Fullerenes, Yang Wang, Manuel Alcami, and Fernando Martin
Fragmentation of Fullerenes, Victor V. Albert, Ryan T. Chancey, Lene B. Oddershede, Frank E. Harris, and John R. Sabin
Fullerene Fragmentation, Henning Zettergren, Nicole Haag, and Henrik Cederquist

Structure and Properties of Carbon Fullerenes
Symmetry of Fulleroids, Stanislav Jendrol’ and František Kardoš
C20, the Smallest Fullerene, Fei Lin, Erik S. Sorensen, Catherine Kallin, and A. John Berlinsky
Solid-State Structures of Small Fullerenes, Gotthard Seifert, Andrey N. Enyashin, and Thomas Heine
Defective Fullerenes, Yuta Sato and Kazu Suenaga
Silicon-Doped Fullerenes, Masahiko Matsubara and Carlo Massobrio
Molecular Orbital Treatment of Endohedrally Doped Fullerenes, Lemi Türker and Selçuk Gümüş
Carbon Onions, Yuriy V. Butenko, Lidija Šiller, and Michael R.C. Hunt
Plasmons in Fullerene Molecules, Ronald A. Phaneuf
[60]Fullerene-Based Electron Acceptors, Beatriz M. Illescas and Nazario Martin

Carbon Fullerenes in Contact
Clusters of Fullerenes, Masato Nakamura
Supramolecular Assemblies of Fullerenes, Takashi Nakanishi, Yanfei Shen, and Jiaobing Wang
Supported Fullerenes, Hai-Ping Cheng
Fullerene Suspensions, Nitin C. Shukla and Scott T. Huxtable
Fullerene Encapsulation, Atsushi Ikeda
Electronic Structure of Encapsulated Fullerenes, Shojun Hino
Metal-Coated Fullerenes, Mario S.C. Mazzoni
Fullerol Clusters, Jonathan A. Brant
Polyhydroxylated Fullerenes, Ricardo A. Guirado-Lopez
Structure and Vibrations in C60 Carbon Peapods, Abdelali Rahmani and Hassane Chadli

Inorganic Fullerenes
Boron Fullerenes, Arta Sadrzadeh and Boris I. Yakobson
Silicon Fullerenes, Aristides D. Zdetsis
Boron Nitride Fullerenes and Nanocones, Ronaldo Junio Campos Batista and Helio Chacham
Fullerene-Like III–V Binary Compounds, Giancarlo Cappellini, Giuliano Malloci, and Giacomo Mulas
Onion-Like Inorganic Fullerenes, Christian Chang, Beate Patzer, and Detlev Sulzle


View More



Klaus D. Sattler is a professor of physics at the University of Hawaii-Manoa in Honolulu. A pioneer in nanophysics, Dr. Sattler built the first atomic cluster source in 1980, which became a cornerstone for nanoscience and nanotechnology. In 1994, his research group at the University of Hawaii produced the first carbon nanocones. His current research focuses on novel nanomaterials, tunneling spectroscopy of quantum dots, and solar photocatalysis with nanoparticles for the purification of water. Dr. Sattler has been a recipient of the Walter Schottky Prize from the German Physical Society