1st Edition

Ireland in Transition, 1867-1921

Edited By D. George Boyce, Alan O'Day Copyright 2004
    300 Pages
    by Routledge

    304 Pages
    by Routledge

    This wide-ranging collection brings together multiple perspectives on a key period in Irish history, from the Fenian Rising in 1867 to the creation of the Irish Free State and Northern Ireland in 1921, with a focus on the formation of Irish identity. The chapters, written by team of experts, focus on key individuals or ideological groups and consider how they perceived Ireland's future, what their sense of Irish identity was, and who they saw as the enemy. Providing a new angle on Ireland during the period from 1867 to 1921, this book will be important reading for all those with an interest in Irish history.

    A time of transitions PART I Home rule, Ireland and a ‘union of hearts’ 1 Max Weber and leadership, Butt, Parnell and Dillon: nationalism in transition 2 Nationality and loyalty: Parnellism, monarchy and the construction of Irish identity, 1880–5 3 ‘These quiet days of peace’: Nationalist opinion before the home rule crisis, 1909–13 4 T.P. O’Connor and The Star, 1886–90 5 A First World War transition: state and citizen in Ireland, 1914–19 PART II Irish Ireland and a separatist identity 6 Broken glass and batoned crowds: Cathleen Ni Houlihan and the tensions of transition 7 National reconstruction: George Russell (Æ) and the Irish Convention 8 The end of Parnellism and the ideological dilemmas of Sinn Féin 9 ‘With the eyes of another race, of a people once hunted themselves’: Casement, colonialism and a remembered past PART III Reformed Ireland or ‘risen people’? 10 Unintended consequences: the national schools and Irish women’s mobility in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries 11 ‘The charm of allowing people to manage their own affairs’: political perspectives on emergency relief in late nineteenth-century Ireland’ 12 True Bolsheviks? The rise and fall of the Socialist Party of Ireland, 1917–21 13 Old and new unionism: the seventh Marquess of Londonderry, 1906–21


    D. George Boyce, Alan O'Day