Jane Austen (RLE Jane Austen) : The Six Novels book cover
1st Edition

Jane Austen (RLE Jane Austen)
The Six Novels

ISBN 9781138084445
Published May 18, 2017 by Routledge
220 Pages

FREE Standard Shipping
USD $52.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

First published in 1965, this reissued work by Wendy Craik provides a thorough and extensive study of Jane Austen's six complete novels: Northanger Abbey, Sense and Sensibility, Pride and Prejudice, Mansfield Park, Emma and Persuasion. This is a truly groundbreaking study of Austen which, in addition to a close analysis of the novels themselves, also goes on investigate the principles by which Jane Austen selected and arranged her material.

Table of Contents

1. Northanger Abbey  2. Sense and Sensibility  3. Pride and Prejudice  4. Mansfield Park  5. Emma  6. Persuasion

View More



Craik, Wendy


‘Mrs Craik has succeeded in writing what I am tempted to call the ideal book on Jane Austen; it is certainly quite the most fruitful I have ever read ... Mrs. Craik’s discussions of the novels are cool, firm and hard, her writing is austere, but extremely lucid; at every point she is sensible and revealing. Jane Austen’s readers will benefit from this excellent, beautifully behaved book.’ - Martin Seymour-Smith

‘Dr. Craik’s book is extremely rewarding. She is a perceptive reader of the text and her purpose, which is to reveal the principles by which Jane Austen selected and arranged her material, is one that has not been undertaken so extensively before...This is an admirable book.’ - Times Educational Supplement