Key Thinkers on Development  book cover
2nd Edition

Key Thinkers on Development

Edited By

David Simon

ISBN 9781138494329
Published April 16, 2019 by Routledge
528 Pages

FREE Standard Shipping
USD $32.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

Since its publication in 2006 as Fifty Key Thinkers on Development, this invaluable reference has established itself as the leading biographical handbook in its field, providing a concise and accessible introduction to the lives and key contributions of development thinkers from across the ideological and disciplinary spectrum. This substantially expanded and fully updated second edition in the relaunched series without the numerical constraint includes an additional 24 essays, filling in many gaps in the original selection, greatly improving the gender balance and diversifying coverage to reflect the evolving landscape of development in theory, policy and practice.

It presents a unique guide to the lives, ideas and practices of leading contributors to the contested terrain of development studies and development policy and practice. Its thoughtful essays reflect the diversity of development in theory, policy and practice across time, space, disciplines and communities of practice. Accordingly, it challenges Western-centrism, Orientalism and the like, while also demonstrating the enduring appeal of "development" in different guises. David Simon has assembled a highly authoritative team of contributors from different backgrounds, regional settings and disciplines to reflect on the lives and contributions of leading authorities on development from around the world. These include:

  • Modernisers like Kindleberger, Perroux and Rostow
  • Dependencistas such as Frank, Furtado, Cardoso and Amin
  • Progressives and critical modernists like Hirschman, Prebisch, Helleiner Sen, Streeten and Wang
  • Political leaders enunciating radical alternative visions of development, such as Mao, Nkrumah and Nyerere
  • Progenitors of religiously or spiritually inspired development, such as Gandhi, Ariyaratne and Vivekananda
  • Development–environment thinkers like Agarwal, Blaikie, Brookfield, Ostrom and Sachs
  • International institution builders like Singer, Hammarsköld, Kaul and Ul Haq
  • Anti- and post-development thinkers and activists like Escobar, Ghosh, Quijano and Roy

Key Thinkers on Development is therefore the essential handbook on the world’s most influential development thinkers and an invaluable guide for students of development and sustainability, policy-makers and practitioners seeking an accessible overview of this diverse field and its leading voices.

Table of Contents

Adebayo Adedeji (1930–2018) Reginald Cline-Cole with David Simon

Irma Adelman (1930–2017) David Zilberman

Anil Agarwal (1947–2002) Tim Forsyth

Elmar Altvater (1938–2018) Henning Melber

Samir Amin (1931–2018) M.A. Mohamed Salih

Alice Amsden (1943–2012) Henry Wai-Chung Yeung

A.T. Ariyaratne (1931–) Lakshman Yapa

Jagdish Bhagwati (1934–) V.N. Balasubramanyam

Piers Blaikie (1942–) Jonathan Rigg

James M. (Jim) Blaut (1927–2000) Ben Wisner

Norman Borlaug (1914–2009) Katie Willis

Ester Boserup (1910–1999) Vandana Desai

Harold Brookfield (1926–) John Connell and Barbara Rugendyke

Fernando Henrique Cardoso (1931–) Roberto Sánchez-Rodríguez with David Simon

Michael Cernea (1934–) Anthony Bebbington

Robert Chambers (1932–) Michael Parnwell with David Simon

Hollis B. Chenery (1918–1994) Juha I. Uitto

Diane Elson (1946–) Sylvia Chant and Jordana Ramalho

Arturo Escobar (1952–) Aram Ziai

Frantz Fanon (1925–1961) Michael J. Watts

Fei Xiaotong (1919–2005) Huang Ping, Joshua Muldavin and Xiaojing Lynette Shi

Andre Gunder Frank (1929–2005) Michael J. Watts

Paolo Freire (1921–1997) Anders Närman with David Simon

John Friedmann (1926–2017) Gary Gaile with David Simon

Celso Furtado (1920–2004) Roberto Saturnino Braga

Mohandas (Mahatma) Gandhi (1869–1948) Rana P.B. Singh

Susan George (1934–) Cathy Mcilwaine

Alexander Gerschenkron (1904–1978) Robert Gwynne with David Simon

Jayati Ghosh (1955–) Sucharita Sen

Eduardo Gudynas (1960–) Ronaldo Munck

Dag Hammarskjöld (1905–1961) Henning Melber

Gerald K. Helleiner (1936–) Christopher Cramer

Albert O. Hirschman (1915–2012) John Brohman with David Simon

Philippe Hugon (1939–2018) Jean-Jacques Gabas

Richard Jolly (1934–) Jo Beall

Naila Kabeer (1950–) Kuntala Lahiri-Dutt

Michał Kalecki (1899–1970) Jan Toporowski

Inge Kaul (1944–) Henning Melber

Akhtar Hameed Khan (1914–1999) David Lewis

Charles Poor Kindleberger (1910–2003) Jan Toporowski

Sir William Arthur Lewis (1915–1991) Morris Szeftel

Michael Lipton (1937–) John Harriss

Reverend Thomas Robert Malthus (1766–1834) W.T.S. (Bill) Gould

Mao Zedong (1893–1976) Ton Van Naerssen

Karl Marx (1818–1883) Richard Peet

Manfred Max-Neef (1932–) Rita Abrahamsen

Terence Gary McGee (1936–) John P. Lea

Gunnar Myrdal (1898–1987) Sarah Radcliffe

Kwame Francis Nkrumah (1909–1972) Alfred Babatunde Zack-Williams

Ragnar Nurkse (1907–1957) Rainer Kattel

Julius Kambaragwe Nyerere (1922–1999) Dani W. Nabudere with David Simon

Elinor Ostrom (1933–2012) Tim Forsyth and Craig Johnson

François Perroux (1903–1987) Jean-Jacques Gabas

Karl Polanyi (1886–1964) Morris Szeftel

Raúl Prebisch (1901–1986) Cristóbal Kay

Aníbal Quijano (1928–2018) Philipp Horn

Joan Robinson (1903–1983) Pervez Tahir

Walter Rodney (1942–1980) James Sidaway

Paul Rosenstein-Rodan (1902–1985) Jagdish Bhagwati and Richard Eckaus

Walt Whitman Rostow (1916–2003) Ulrich Menzel

Aruna Roy (1946–) John Harriss

Ignacy Sachs (1927–) Krystyna Vinaver and Marlène Monteiro

E.F. (Fritz) Schumacher (1911–1977) Tony Binns

Dudley Seers (1920–1983) Arturo Escobar

Amartya Kumar Sen (1933–) Stuart Corbridge

Hans Wolfgang Singer (1910–2006) John Shaw with David Simon

Frances Stewart (1940–) Nandini Gooptu and Amogh Dhar Sharma

Joseph Stiglitz (1943–) Ben Fine

Paul Patrick Streeten (1917–2019) Francis Wilson

James Tobin (1918–2002) David Simon

Mahbub Ul Haq (1934–1998) Marcus Power

Swami Vivekananda (1863–1902) Rana P.B. Singh

Wang Hui (1959–) Joshua Muldavin and Kong Yuan

Eric R. Wolf (1923–1999) Reinhart Kößler and Tilman Schiel

Peter Worsley (1924–2013) Ronaldo Munck

View More



David Simon is Professor of Development Geography at Royal Holloway, University of London, UK, and Director of Mistra Urban Futures, Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden. He is author, editor and co-editor of many books and journal special issues on cities, development–environment challenges and climate change adaptation, most recently Rethinking Sustainable Cities: Accessible, Green and Fair (2016), Urban Planet (2018) and Holocaust Escapees and Global Development: Hidden Histories (2019).


"David Simon has done a masterful job of collecting a diverse group of idea men and women, practitioners, politicians and spiritual leaders from all continents to enrich the still-evolving field of development studies. It is a ready reference to the intellectual development of the past as well as the main currents in the contemporary world. The student, the teacher and discerning readers will all enjoy this must-read."
-Dr Nadia Tahir, The News on Sunday