1st Edition

Key Thinkers on the Environment

Edited By Joy A. Palmer, David E. Cooper Copyright 2018
    426 Pages
    by Routledge

    426 Pages
    by Routledge

    Continue Shopping

    Key Thinkers on the Environment is a unique guide to environmental thinking through the ages. Joy A. Palmer Cooper and David E. Cooper, themselves distinguished authors on environmental matters, have assembled a team of expert contributors to summarize and analyse the thinking of diverse and stimulating figures from around the world and from ancient times to the present day. Among those included are:

    • philosophers such as Rousseau, Kant, Spinoza and Heidegger
    • activists such as Chico Mendes and Wangari Maathai
    • literary giants such as Virgil, Goethe and Wordsworth
    • major religious and spiritual figures such as Buddha and St Francis of Assissi
    • eminent scientists such as Darwin, Lovelock and E.O. Wilson.

    Lucid, scholarly and informative, the essays contained within this volume offer a fascinating overview of humankind’s view and understanding of the natural world.


    Alphabetical list of contents

    Notes on Contributors


    Confucius, 479-551 BCE

    Yue Zhuang

    Buddha, fifth century bce

    Purushottama Bilimoria

    Zhuangzi, c.370-c.286 bce

    David E. Cooper

    Aristotle, 384–322 bce

    David E. Cooper

    Virgil, 70–19 bce

    Philip R. Hardie

    Saint Francis of Assisi, 1181/2–1226

    Andrew Linzey and Ara Barsam

    Wang Yang-ming, 1472–1528

    T. Yamauchi

    Michel de Montaigne, 1533–92

    Ann Moss

    Francis Bacon, 1561–1626

    Paul S. MacDonald

    Benedict Spinoza, 1632–77

    Paul S. MacDonald

    Bashō, 1644–94

    David J. Mossley

    Jean-Jacques Rousseau, 1712–78

    Paul S. MacDonald

    Immanuel Kant, 1724-1804

    Emily Brady

    Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, 1749–1832

    Colin Riordan

    Alexander von Humboldt, 1769-1859

    Nicolaas A. Rupke

    William Wordsworth, 1770–1850

    W. John Coletta

    John Clare, 1793–1864

    W John Coletta

    Ralph Waldo Emerson, 1803–82

    Holmes Rolston III

    Charles Darwin, 1809–82

    Alan Holland

    Henry David Thoreau, 1817–62

    Laura Dassow Walls

    Karl Marx, 1818–83

    Richard Smith

    John Ruskin, 1819–1900

    Richard Smith

    Frederick Law Olmsted, 1822–1903

    R. Terry Schnadelbach

    John Muir, 1838–1914

    Peter Blaze Corcoran

    Anna Botsford Comstock, 1854–1930

    Peter Blaze Corcoran

    Rabindranath Tagore, 1861–1941

    Kalyan Sen Gupta

    Black Elk, 1862–1950

    J. Baird Callicott

    Jacob von Uexküll, 1864-1944

    Carlo Brentari

    Frank Lloyd Wright, 1867–1959

    Robert McCarter

    Mahatma Gandhi, 1869–1948

    Purushottama Bilimoria

    Albert Schweitzer, 1875–1965

    Ara Barsam and Andrew Linzey

    Aldo Leopold, 1887–1948

    J. Baird Callicott

    Robinson Jeffers, 1887–1962

    Michael McDowell

    Martin Heidegger, 1889–1976

    Simon P. James

    Eve Balfour, 1898-1990

    Erin Gill

    Rachel Carson, 1907–64

    Peter Blaze Corcoran

    Lynn White, Jr, 1907–87

    Michael P. Nelson

    Maurice Merleau-Ponty, 1908-61

    Bryan E. Bannon

    E.F. Schumacher, 1911–77

    Satish Kumar

    John Cage, 1912-92

    Peter Jaeger

    Arne Naess, 1912–2009

    David E. Cooper

    John Passmore, 1914–2004

    David E. Cooper

    Judith Wright, 1915-2000

    Nicholas Birns

    Barry Commoner, 1917-2012

    Peter Dreier

    James Lovelock, 1919-

    Michael Allaby

    Mary Midgley, 1919-

    Elizabeth McKinnell

    Murray Bookchin, 1921–2006

    John Barry

    Thich Nhat Hanh, 1926-

    Elli Weisbaum

    Edward Osborne Wilson, 1929–

    Phillip J. Gates

    Yi-Fu Tuan, 1930-

    Paul C. Adams

    Paul Ehrlich, 1932–

    Ian G Simmons

    Holmes Rolston III, 1932–

    Jack Weir

    Seyyed Hossein Nasr 1933-

    Sarah Robinson-Bertoni

    Wendell Berry, 1934-

    Jason Peters

    Jane Goodall, 1934-

    Marc Bekoff

    Rudolf Bahro, 1935–97

    John Barry

    Roderick Nash, 1939-

    Gregory Graves

    Val Plumwood, 1939–2008

    Nicholas Griffin

    Patriarch Bartholomew, 1940-

    John Chryssavgis and Frederick W. Krueger

    Wangari Maathai, 1940-2011

    Mia MacDonald

    J. Baird Callicott, 1941–

    Michael P. Nelson

    Bob Hunter, 1941-2005

    Thomas E. Hart

    Susan Griffin, 1943–

    Cheryll Glotfelty

    Chico Mendes, 1944–88

    Joy A. Palmer Cooper

    Barry Lopez, 1945-

    Diane Warner

    Peter Singer, 1946–

    Paula Casal

    Al Gore, 1948-

    Thomas E. Hart

    Vandana Shiva, 1952–

    Lynette J. Dumble

    Bill McKibben, 1960-

    Thomas E. Hart

    Pavan Sukhdev, 1960-

    Paul Knights and Stijn Neuteleers


    Joy A. Palmer Cooper was formerly Professor of Education and Pro-Vice-Chancellor at Durham University. She is a Vice-President and former National Chair of the National Association for Environmental Education, Chairman of Trustees of the UK Charity Project Sri Lanka and a Trustee of the British and Foreign School Society. She is the author and editor of numerous books and articles on environmental issues and environmental education.

    David E. Cooper is Emeritus Professor of Philosophy at Durham University and Secretary of the UK Charity Project Sri Lanka. He has been a Visiting Professor at universities in the USA, Canada, Malta, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Germany. He is the author of many books, including ones in the field of environmental philosophy.