1st Edition

Landmarks in Modern Latin American Fiction (Routledge Revivals)

Edited By

Philip Swanson

ISBN 9781138804180
Published February 10, 2016 by Routledge
284 Pages

USD $56.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

In the 1960s, there occurred amongst Latin American writers a sudden explosion of literary activity known as the ‘Boom’. It marked an increase in the production and availability of innovative and experimental novels. But the ‘Boom’ of the 1960s should not be taken as the only flowering of Latin American fiction, for such novels dubbed ‘new novels’ were being written in the 1940s and 1950s, as well as in the 1970s and 1980s. In this edited collection, first published in 1990, Philip Swanson charts the development of Latin American fiction throughout the twentieth century. He assesses the impact of the ‘new novel’ on Latin American literature, and follows its growth. Nine key texts are analysed by contributors, including works by the ‘big four’ of the ‘Boom’ – Fuentes, Cortázar, Garcia Márquez and Vargas Llosa.

This book will be of interest to critics and teachers of Latin American literature, and will be useful too as supplementary reading for students of Spanish and Hispanic Studies. It will also serve as a helpful introduction to those new to Latin American fiction.

Table of Contents

Notes on Contributors;  Preface;  1. Introduction: Background to the Boom Philip Swanson  2. Jorge Luis Borges: Ficciones Donald Leslie Shaw  3. Miguel Ángel Asturias: El Seńor Presidente Gerald Martin  4. Juan Rulfo: Pedro Páramo Peter Beardsell  5. Carlos Fuentes: La Muerte de Artemio Cruz Robin Fiddian  6. Julio Cortázar: Rayuela Steven Boldy  7. Gabriel García Márquez: Cien Aos de Soledad James Higgins  8. Mario Vargas Llosa: La Casa Verde Peter Standish  9. José Donoso: El Obsceno Pájaro De La Noche Philip Swanson  10. Manuel Puig: Boquitas Pintadas Pamela Bacarisse  11. Conclusion: After the Boom Philip Swanson;  Select bibliography;  Index

View More