1st Edition

Let the Flowers Go: A Life of Mary Cholmondeley

By Carolyn W de la L Oulton Copyright 2010
    272 Pages
    by Routledge

    262 Pages
    by Routledge

    Continue Shopping

    Giving a comprehensive critique of Cholmondeley's writings, Oulton analyzes the inspiration and influences behind some of her greatest work and provides an appealing biography on a writer whose work is of increasing interest to modern scholars.

    prologue Prologue; Chapter 1 ‘Water Tinted with Gold’; Chapter 2 ‘One Great Hope’; Chapter 3 ‘If I Found I had no Power at all’: The Early Fiction; Chapter 4 ‘The only life I Know’: Sir Charles Danvers, Diana Tempest and A Devotee; Chapter 5 ‘Strumming on two Pianos at Once’: London and the Writing of Red Pottage; Chapter 6 ‘Not Mine to Keep’: Moth and Rust (1902) and Prisoners (1906); Chapter 7 ‘Windows Wide Open, Yet Discreetly Veiled’: Notwithstanding (1913); Chapter 8 War; Chapter 9 ‘I Dont Think I was Ever Brave’: The Romance of his Life (1921) and the Longing for Rest;


    Oulton, Carolyn W de la L