Making Psychotherapy More Effective with Unconscious Process Work  book cover
SAVE
$6.45
1st Edition

Making Psychotherapy More Effective with Unconscious Process Work





ISBN 9780367649654
Published July 29, 2021 by Routledge
190 Pages

FREE Standard Shipping
 
SAVE $6.45
was $42.95
USD $36.50

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Preview

Book Description

Making Psychotherapy More Effective with Unconscious Process Work is an essential text that seeks to educate readers on the astounding capabilities of unconscious intelligence to both gather information and engage in rapid cognition. By providing a comprehensive and easily understood overview of the recent research on unconscious processes, as well as clinical case material, this book provides readers with skills that will enable them to strategically engage these resources.

The first part of the book discusses the research-based principles that frame this growth-oriented approach towards psychotherapy. New discoveries about the surprising limitations of conscious self-governance force readers to reconsider the overall aim of psychotherapy. The second part explores several transtheoretical techniques, focusing on prediction, reimagining, mental contrasting, and incubated cognition. Case examples and key point summaries are used throughout, with the last chapter featuring reflective exercises. This book is essential reading for practicing psychotherapists, Ericksonian therapists, graduate students, and professors of psychotherapy.

Table of Contents

1: What is Unconscious Process Work? 2: Perception and Memory. 3: Choice and Deliberation. 4: Motivation and Goal Setting. 5: Nonlinear Multidimensional Language;  6: Prediction. 7: Reimagining. 8: Mental Contrasting. 9: Incubated Cognition. 10: Unconscious Process Work: A Growth Mindset. Index. 

...
View More

Author(s)

Biography

Dan Short, PhD, is director of the Milton H. Erickson Institute of Phoenix and former Assistant Director for the Milton H. Erickson Foundation. He has authored several books and book chapters on Ericksonian Therapy and is leading the effort to document the core competencies of Ericksonian Therapy. Currently teaching Clinical Hypnosis at the Southwest College of Naturopathic Medicine, he conducts consultation groups for professionals in the Phoenix metropolitan area, provides supervision of professionals in the United States and abroad, and presents seminars and workshops as visiting faculty at institutes around the world. www.iamdrshort.com/book

Reviews

"The contents are original and an excellent blend of theory and practical tools. It’s 'cutting edge' — I am not aware of anything quite like it. While it draws from Ericksonian ideas, it should have appeal to therapists across the theoretical gamut." Michael F. Hoyt, PhD, author of Brief Therapy and Beyond: Stories, Language, Love, Hope, and Time

"There are so many interesting things in this book that make reading it both enjoyable and educational. From Stroop tests to metaphors, to the powerful effects of imagination, you will find that this journey will reveal something more than gold or gems. It will reveal more of you, your clients and, I suggest, your life." Richard Hill, DPC, lead author of The Practitioner's Guide to Mirroring Hands

"In the tradition of William James and Milton Erickson who believed that unconscious processes contain vital resources for problem-solving, and upon which we construct our conscious intentions, Dan Short has written an excellent book, expanding these insights for the 21st Century. He brilliantly explains through engaging stories how unconscious processes have many dimensions with various functions. In pointing out how important novelty is to unconscious processes, he offers novel and rich insights for all psychotherapists." John B. Arden, PhD, author of Mind-Brain-Gene

"Medicine seeks to heal physicality. Psychotherapy seeks to heal the non-material aspect of us with services designed to bring clarity and comfort when life’s challenges threaten to overwhelm. Dr. Dan Short’s aptly named Making Psychotherapy More Effective with Unconscious Process Work dives down into the aspect of psychotherapy spawned from beyond conscious awareness. Psychotherapists earn their mastery by riding on the invisibility of this mystery. By distilling an encyclopedia of knowledge into a 200+ page book, Short provides seasoned practitioners a way to confirm what they know about healing psychic wounds and beginners a valuable checklist of skills to acquire." Helen Adrienne, LCSW, author of On Fertile Ground: Healing Infertility 

"As with Short’s previous works, this one is filled with simple but useful concepts that can be immediately used, but take decades to master, e.g., the section on nonlinear multidimensional language. Short makes topics such as this seem simple because he is a master of reductions. After all, a 20 ft. by 6 ft. Lego® model of the White House is just built from individual Legos®." John Lentz, VOL. 41, NO. 3 The Milton H. Erickson Foundation Newsletter.