1st Edition

Making Psychotherapy More Effective with Unconscious Process Work




  • Available for pre-order. Item will ship after July 29, 2021
ISBN 9780367649654
July 29, 2021 Forthcoming by Routledge
224 Pages

USD $42.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Preview

Book Description

Making Psychotherapy More Effective with Unconscious Process Work is an essential text that seeks to educate readers on the astounding capabilities of unconscious intelligence to both gather information and engage in rapid cognition. By providing a comprehensive and easily understood overview of the recent research on unconscious processes, as well as clinical case material, this book provides readers with skills that will enable them to strategically engage with resources.

The first section of the book discusses the research-based principles that frame this growth-oriented approach towards psychotherapy. New discoveries about the surprising limitations of conscious self-governance force readers to reconsider the overall aim of psychotherapy. The second section explores several transtheoretical techniques, focusing on prediction, reimagining, mental contrasting and incubated cognition. Case examples and key point summaries are used throughout, with the last chapter featuring reflective exercises. This book is essential reading for practicing psychotherapists, Ericksonian therapists, graduate students and professors of psychotherapy.

Table of Contents

Section I: Beyond the Margins of Conscious Awareness. 1: What is Unconscious Process Work? 2: Perception and Memory. 3: Choice and Deliberation. 4: Motivation and Goal Setting. 5: Non-linear Multi-dimensional Language; Section II: Transtheoretical Tools for Unconscious Process Work. 6: Prediction. 7: Reimagining. 8: Mental Contrasting. 9: Incubated Cognition. 10: Unconscious Process Work as a Growth Mindset;
References

...
View More

Author(s)

Biography

Dan Short, PhD, is director of the Milton H. Erickson Institute of Phoenix and former Assistant Director for the Milton H. Erickson Foundation. He has authored several books and book chapters on Ericksonian Therapy and is leading the effort to document the core competencies of Ericksonian Therapy. Currently teaching Clinical Hypnosis at the Southwest College of Naturopathic Medicine, he conducts consultation groups for professionals in the Phoenix metropolitan area, as well as providing supervision of professionals in the United States and abroad, presenting seminars and workshops as visiting faculty at institutes around the world.

Reviews

"The contents are original and an excellent blend of theory and practical tools. It’s "cutting edge" — I am not aware of anything quite like it. While it draws from Ericksonian ideas, it should have appeal to therapists across the theoretical gamut."

— Michael F. Hoyt, Ph.D., author of Brief Therapy and Beyond: Stories, Language, Love, Hope, and Time

 

"There are so many interesting things in this book that make reading it both enjoyable and educational. From Stroop tests to metaphors, to the powerful effects of imagination, you will find that this journey will reveal something more than gold or gems. It will reveal more of you, your clients and, I suggest, your life."

—Richard Hill, DPC, lead author of The Practitioner's Guide to Mirroring Hands

 

"In the tradition of William James and Milton Erickson who believed that unconscious processes contain vital resources for problem-solving, and upon which we construct our conscious intentions, Dan Short has written an excellent book, expanding these insights for the 21st Century. He brilliantly explains through engaging stories how unconscious processes have many dimensions with various functions. In pointing out how important novelty is to unconscious processes, he offers novel and rich insights for all psychotherapists."  
— John B. Arden, PhD, author of Mind-Brain-Gene

 

"Medicine seeks to heal physicality. Psychotherapy seeks to heal the non-material aspect of us with services designed to bring clarity and comfort when life’s challenges threaten to overwhelm. Dr. Dan Short’s aptly named Making Psychotherapy More Effective with Unconscious Process Work dives down into the aspect of psychotherapy spawned from beyond conscious awareness. Psychotherapists earn their mastery by riding on the invisibility of this mystery. By distilling an encyclopedia of knowledge into a 200+ page book, Short provides seasoned practitioners a way to confirm what they know about healing psychic wounds and beginners a valuable checklist of skills to acquire."
—Helen Adrienne, LCSW, author of On Fertile Ground: Healing Infertility