Mongolian Journey  book cover
1st Edition

Mongolian Journey

ISBN 9780367151775
Published October 16, 2020 by Routledge
248 Pages

FREE Standard Shipping
USD $42.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

Originally published in 1946, Mongolian Journey follows Henning Haslund's trip across Mongolia, inspired by the 'desire to see what was hidden on the other side of the farthest of all known passes.' It includes chapters on the younger generation of Mongolia, robber life in Mongolia, and Jasaktu Land, among many others.

Table of Contents

1. Preface.  2. Why did we set out?  3. From Singapore to Shanghair.  4. From Shanghai to Peking.  5. The Girl who Painted a Fan.  6. In the Heart of Jasaktu Land.  7. The Princess's Temple.  8. In Camp at Manchu Ail.  9. Among Devil Dancers in the King's Monastery.  10. Steppe Poetry.  11. The Younger Generation of Mongolia.  12. Christmas Night in the Wild.  13. The Mongols' "Blue City".  14. With Fire-Worshippers in Mongolia.  15. The Holy Fire Maiden.  16. The White Old Man of the Steppe.  17. To a Wedding Feast Among the Chahar People.  18. A Nomad's Funeral.  19. Robber Life in Mongolia.  20. On Christian Soil in a Heathen Land.  21. The Oasis Beyond the Desert.  22. In the Land of Snow.  23. East is East...? 

View More



Henning Haslund