Physicists of Ireland: Passion and Precision, 1st Edition (Hardback) book cover

Physicists of Ireland

Passion and Precision, 1st Edition

Edited by Mark McCartney, Andrew Whitaker

CRC Press

312 pages

Purchasing Options:$ = USD
Hardback: 9780750308663
pub: 2003-09-15
SAVE ~$16.50
Currently out of stock
eBook (VitalSource) : 9780429147517
pub: 2003-09-15
from $28.98

FREE Standard Shipping!


Demonstrating the strength of tradition in Ireland, Physicists of Ireland: Passion and Precision is a collection of essays on leading figures from the history of physics in Ireland. It includes physicists born outside of Ireland who carried out significant work in Ireland as well as those who had strong Irish roots but carried out their work outside of Ireland. The book is well illustrated with diagrams and photos of historical interest and rounded off with useful suggestions for further reading. It might come as a surprise to many that several leading English physicists are actually from Ireland.


"… a biographical approach to the history of science in Ireland. Essays on thirty-two men of science who were born or worked in Ireland are included …The authors use the biographical format well and most contributions admirably situate their subjects within their social and political contexts. … the accounts here are eminently lucid and a worthy addition to existing biographical material. … This is an excellent addition to a growing corpus of works and a fine point of departure for further studies."

-Edna Leaney, British Journal for the History of Science

"The editors of Physicists of Ireland show that there is also distinction in Ireland on the scientific side. They have produced short biographies of 33 scientists, with fascinating family background … It is clear from this book they have an excellent tradition to build on."

-W. Hayes, Clarendon Laboratory, Oxford, UK

"This is a truly fascinating book, incorporating as it does the archival value of the topic, the eclectic nature of the selected biographies, and the enigmatic philosophy behind the collection. I recommend it without reservation to all who would learn, ponder, or wonder about the lives and times of those searchers for truth that have gone before and held the torch for Irish physics the world over."

-J.S.C. McKee, Physics in Canada, Vol. 59, No. 6 Nov/Dec 2003

Table of Contents

William Petty 1623-1687, by Norman McMillan

Robert Boyle 1627-1691, by Duncan Thorburn Burns

William Molyneaux 1656-1698,

by Patrick Wayman and Norman McMillan

Nicholas Callan 1799-1864, by Niall McKeith

William Parsons, Earl of Rosse 1800-1867, by Bob Strunz

Humphrey Lloyd 1800-1881, by James O'Hara

Thomas Grubb 1800-1878 and Howard Grubb 1844-1931by Andrew Whitaker

William Hamilton 1805-1865, by E F Robertson and J J O'Connor

James MacCullagh 1809-1847, by James O'Hara

Thomas Andrews 1813-1885, by Duncan Thorburn Burns

George Stokes 1819-1903, by Alastair Wood

John Tyndall 1820-1893, by Norman McMillan

Sam Haughton 1821-1897, by Norman McMillan

William Thompson, Lord Kelvin 1824-1907, by Mark McCartney

George Stoney 1826-1911, by James O'Hara

George Fitzgerald 1851-1901, by E F Robertson and J J O'Connor

James Joly 1857-1903, by Dennis Weaire and Stephen Coonan

Joseph Larmor 1857-1942, by Raymond Flood

Frederick Trouton 1863-1922, by James O'Hara

John Townsend 1868-1957, by Mark McCartney

John McClelland 1870-1920, by Tom O'Connor

Erwin Schrödinger 1887-1961, by Andrew Whitaker

Cornelius Lanczos 1893-1974, by Barbara Gellai

John Synge 1897-1995, by Petros Florides

Desmond Bernal 1901-1971, by Roy Johnston

Ernest Walton 1903-1995, by Brian Cathcart

Walther Heitler 1904-1981, by David Glass

William McCrea 1904-1999 by Ivan Williams

Cormac Ó Ceallaigh 1912-1996, by Mark McCartney

David Bates 1918-1994, by Ray Flannery

John Bell 1928-1990, by Andrew Whitaker

Lochlain Ó Raifeartaigh 1933-2000, by Siddartha Sen


Subject Categories

BISAC Subject Codes/Headings:
SCIENCE / Physics