Political Parties and Democracy in Turkey  book cover
1st Edition

Political Parties and Democracy in Turkey

ISBN 9781138644953
Published August 31, 2017 by Routledge
242 Pages

SAVE $8.99
was $44.95
USD $35.96

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

Since the establishment in 1945 of a constitutional democracy, political parties have figured prominently in Turkish politics. This book, first published in 1991, examines the role they have played. Key features of the political culture of the Turkish republic have created dilemmas for multi-party democracy: Atatürkism still exerts a powerful influence on the country’s bureaucratic and military elites. With their notion of ‘responsible leadership’ and of democracy as rational intellectual debate in pursuit of the ‘best’ policy, they have expected an unrealistic degree of idealism and statesmanlike behaviour from the leaders of political parties. Three times, in 1960, 1971 and 1980, the military has intervened in politics – on the third occasion to undertake wholesale constitutional and legal restructuring aimed at producing ‘sensible’ politicians. Given these ambiguous circumstances, what role have the political parties themselves played in the promotion and functioning of democracy in Turkey, and what are their attitudes to the issues involved? This collection of essays discusses political parties since the foundation of the Turkish Republic in 1923 until the 1990s. With contributions from leading political scientists and historians of modern Turkey, it is indispensable reading for all those concerned with the country.

Table of Contents

1. Introduction Metin Heper  2. Political Parties in Turkey: An Overview Dankwart A. Rustow  3. Atatürk and Political Parties C.H. Dodd  4. The Republican People’s Party, 1923-45 Kemal H. Karpat  5. The Progressive Republican Party, 1924-25 Feroz Ahmad  6. The Free Party, 1930 Walter F. Weiker  7. The Republican People’s Party, 1945-80 Frank Tachau  8. The Democratic Party, 1946-60 Ali Yaşar Saribay  9. The Justice Party, 1961-80 Avner Levi  10. The Motherland Party, 1983-89 Üstün Ergüder  11. The Social Democratic Populist Party, 1983-89 Andrew Mango  12. The True Path Party, 1983-89 Feride Acar  13. Conclusion Jacob M. Landau

View More