Rethinking Technology: A Reader in Architectural Theory, 1st Edition (Paperback) book cover

Rethinking Technology

A Reader in Architectural Theory, 1st Edition

Edited by William W. Braham, Jonathan A. Hale


488 pages

Purchasing Options:$ = USD
Paperback: 9780415346542
pub: 2006-12-13
Hardback: 9780415346535
pub: 2006-12-19
Currently out of stock
eBook (VitalSource) : 9780203624333
pub: 2006-12-05
from $28.48

FREE Standard Shipping!


This essential reference for all students of architecture, design and the built environment provides a convenient single source for all the key texts in the recent literature on architecture and technology.

The book contains over fifty carefully selected essays, manifestoes, reflections and theories by architects and architectural writers from 1900 to 2004. This mapping out of a century of architectural technology reveals the discipline's long and close attention to the experience and effects of new technologies, and provides a broad picture of the shift from the 'age of tools' to the 'age of systems'.

Chronological arrangement and cross-referencing of the articles enable both a thematic and historically contextual understanding of the topic and highlight important thematic connections across time.

With the ever increasing pace of technological change, this Reader presents a clear understanding of the context in which it has and does affect architecture.


'The inclusion of the remarkable essay … The Sociology of the Door Closer makes the book worth its price; everything else (and there is much to surprise even the best-read architectural theorist) is a bonus.' - Architectural Review

Table of Contents

1901: Frank Lloyd Wright 1914: Antonio Sant' Elia 1915: Patrick Geddes 1923: Le Corbusier 1928: Siegfried Giedion 1929: Le Corbusier 1929: Buckminster Fuller 1929: Knud Lönberg-Holm 1932: Hugo Häring 1934: Lewis Mumford 1937: Karel Honzik 1939: Frederick J. Kiesler 1941: Siegfried Giedion 1948: Siegfried Giedion 1950: Ludwig Mies van der Rohe 1954/1962: Team 10 1954: Richard Neutra 1957: Konrad Wachsmann 1959: Peter Collins 1960: Reyner Banham 1960: William Katavalos 1964: Christopher Alexander 1964: Marshall McLuhan 1965: Reyner Banham 1969: R. Buckminster Fuller 1969: James R. Boyce 1970: Peter Cook 1972: Superstudio 1973: Leopold Kohr 1973: Paolo Soleri 1976: Ruth Schwartz Cowan 1977: Kisho Kurokawa 1979: Philip Steadman 1981: Alan Colquhoun 1982: Luis Fernández-Galiano 1985: Steve Ternoey 1987: Martin Pawley 1988: Bruno Latour 1988: Peter McCleary 1992: Joseph Rykwert 1994: Stewart Brand 1995: Rem Koolhaas 1995: Felix Guattari 1997: Francis Duffy 1997: Paul Virilio 1999: Ben van Berkel and Caroline Bos 1999: Ken Yeang 2000: Bernard Cache 2002: Manuel De Landa 2002: David Leatherbarrow and Mohsen Mostafavi 2002: William McDonough and Michael Braungart 2002: William J. Mitchell 2003: SLA 2004: Manuel Castells

About the Editors

William Braham is associate professor of architecture at the University of Pennsylvania. He has written widely on environmental technologies, combining technical analysis with historical and theoretical accounts. He is the author of Modern Color/Modern Architecture: Amedee Ozenfant and the genealogy of color in modern architecture (2002).

Jonathan Hale is associate professor and director of research in architecture at the School of the Built Environment, University of Nottingham. He is the author of Building Ideas: An Introduction to Architectural Theory (2000).

John Stanislav Sadar is an architect and partner in the multidisciplinary design firm little wonder.

Subject Categories

BISAC Subject Codes/Headings:
ARCHITECTURE / Design, Drafting, Drawing & Presentation