Rethinking Technology : A Reader in Architectural Theory book cover
1st Edition

Rethinking Technology
A Reader in Architectural Theory

ISBN 9780415346542
Published December 26, 2006 by Routledge
488 Pages

SAVE ~ $11.99
was $59.95
USD $47.96

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

This essential reference for all students of architecture, design and the built environment provides a convenient single source for all the key texts in the recent literature on architecture and technology.

The book contains over fifty carefully selected essays, manifestoes, reflections and theories by architects and architectural writers from 1900 to 2004. This mapping out of a century of architectural technology reveals the discipline's long and close attention to the experience and effects of new technologies, and provides a broad picture of the shift from the 'age of tools' to the 'age of systems'.

Chronological arrangement and cross-referencing of the articles enable both a thematic and historically contextual understanding of the topic and highlight important thematic connections across time.

With the ever increasing pace of technological change, this Reader presents a clear understanding of the context in which it has and does affect architecture.

Table of Contents

1901: Frank Lloyd Wright  1914: Antonio Sant' Elia  1915: Patrick Geddes  1923: Le Corbusier  1928: Siegfried Giedion  1929: Le Corbusier  1929: Buckminster Fuller  1929: Knud Lönberg-Holm  1932: Hugo Häring  1934: Lewis Mumford  1937: Karel Honzik  1939: Frederick J. Kiesler  1941: Siegfried Giedion  1948: Siegfried Giedion  1950: Ludwig Mies van der Rohe  1954/1962: Team 10  1954: Richard Neutra  1957: Konrad Wachsmann  1959: Peter Collins  1960: Reyner Banham  1960: William Katavalos  1964: Christopher Alexander  1964: Marshall McLuhan  1965: Reyner Banham  1969: R. Buckminster Fuller  1969: James R. Boyce  1970: Peter Cook  1972: Superstudio  1973: Leopold Kohr  1973: Paolo Soleri  1976: Ruth Schwartz Cowan  1977: Kisho Kurokawa  1979: Philip Steadman  1981: Alan Colquhoun  1982: Luis Fernández-Galiano  1985: Steve Ternoey  1987: Martin Pawley  1988: Bruno Latour  1988: Peter McCleary  1992: Joseph Rykwert  1994: Stewart Brand  1995: Rem Koolhaas  1995: Felix Guattari  1997: Francis Duffy  1997: Paul Virilio  1999: Ben van Berkel and Caroline Bos  1999: Ken Yeang  2000: Bernard Cache  2002: Manuel De Landa  2002: David Leatherbarrow and Mohsen Mostafavi  2002: William McDonough and Michael Braungart  2002: William J. Mitchell  2003: SLA  2004: Manuel Castells

View More



William Braham is associate professor of architecture at the University of Pennsylvania. He has written widely on environmental technologies, combining technical analysis with historical and theoretical accounts. He is the author of Modern Color/Modern Architecture: Amedee Ozenfant and the genealogy of color in modern architecture (2002).

Jonathan Hale is associate professor and director of research in architecture at the School of the Built Environment, University of Nottingham. He is the author of Building Ideas: An Introduction to Architectural Theory (2000).

John Stanislav Sadar is an architect and partner in the multidisciplinary design firm little wonder.


'The inclusion of the remarkable essay ... The Sociology of the Door Closer makes the book worth its price; everything else (and there is much to surprise even the best-read architectural theorist) is a bonus.' - Architectural Review