1st Edition

Revisiting Modern Indian Thought Themes and Perspectives

Edited By Suratha Kumar Malik, Ankit Tomar Copyright 2022
    344 Pages
    by Routledge India

    344 Pages
    by Routledge India

    This book presents a comprehensive account of the socio-political thought of prominent modern Indian thinkers. It offers a clear understanding of the basic concepts and their contributions on contemporary issues.

    Key features:

    • Explores the nature, scope, relevance, context, and theoretical approaches of modern Indian thought and overviews its development through an in-depth study of the lives and ideas of major thinkers.
    • Examines critical themes such as nationalism, swaraj, democracy and state, liberalism, revolution, socialism, constitutionalism, secularism, satyāgraha, swadeshi, nationbuilding, humanism, ethics in politics, democratic decentralisation, religion and politics, social transformation and emancipation, and social and gender justice under sections on liberal-reformist, moderate-Gandhian, and leftist-socialist thought.
    • Brings together insightful essays on Raja Ram Mohan Roy, Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar, Dayānanda Saraswati, Ramakrishna Paramhansa, Pandita Ramabai, Periyar E. V. Ramasamy, Jyotirao Govindrao Phule, Babasaheb Ambedkar, Dadabhai Naoroji, Gopal Krishna Gokhale, Mahatma Gandhi, Jawaharlal Nehru, Subhas Chandra Bose, Ram Manohar Lohia, Babu Jagjivan Ram, Vinoba Bhave, Acharya Narendra Deva, Manabendra Nath Roy, and Jayaprakash Narayan.
    • Traces different perspectives on the way India’s composite cultures, traditions, and conditions inf luenced the evolution of their thought and legacy.

    With its accessible style, this book will be useful to teachers, students, and scholars of political science, modern Indian political thought, modern Indian history, and political philosophy. It will also interest those associated with exclusion studies, political sociology, sociology, and South Asian studies.

    Foreword by Sudha Pai

    Preface and Acknowledgements



    Sanjukta Banerji Bhattacharya


    Part I: Liberal–Reformist Thought

    1. Ram Mohan Roy

    Anuranjita Wadhwa

    2. Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar

    Sibaji Pratim Basu

    3. Dayānanda Saraswati

    Ankit Tomar

    4. Jyotirao Govindrao Phule

    Basanta Kumar Mallik

    5. Ramakrishna Paramhansa

    Praveen Kumar

    6. Pandita Ramabai

    Avneet Kaur

    7. Periyar E. V. Ramasamy

    Debi Chatterjee

    8. Bhimrao Ramji Ambedkar

    Narender Kumar

    9. Jagjivan Ram

    Meena Charanda


    Part II: Moderate–Gandhian Thought

    10. Dadabhai Naoroji

    Radha Kumari

    11. Gopal Krishna Gokhale

    Abha Chauhan Khimta

    12. Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi

    Ambarish Mukhopadhyay

    13. Vinoba Bhave

    Suratha Kumar Malik


    Part III: Leftist–Socialist Thought

    14. Manabendra Nath Roy

    Aritra Majumdar

    15. Narendra Deva

    Satrajit Banerjee

    16. Jawaharlal Nehru

    Surya Narayan Misra

    17. Subhas Chandra Bose

    Sumit Mukerji

    18. Jayaprakash Narayan

    Anand Kumar and Sipra Sagarika

    19. Ram Manohar Lohia

    Dev Nath Pathak and Divyendu Jha


    Suratha Kumar Malik is Assistant Professor in the Department of Political Science, Vidyasagar University, West Bengal, India.

    Ankit Tomar is Assistant Professor in the Department of Political Science, Lakshmibai College, University of Delhi, India.

    "A well organised textbook on Indian Political Thought, written by reputed writers. It would be of immense help for students and civil services aspirants".

    Prakash Chandra Sarangi, Former Vice-Chancellor, Ravenshaw University & Former Professor of Political Science, University of Hyderabad, India

    "A long-awaited, timely and useful contribution for a very wide variety of audience".

    Upendra Choudhury, Professor, Department of Political Science, Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh & Former Member Secretary and Director, Indian Council of Social Science Research, New Delhi, India

    "Revisiting Modern Indian Thought is an important contribution to the field of Indian Political Thought. It attempts to cover major thinkers of modern India. The work of Suratha Kumar Malik and Ankit Tomar will be immensely helpful to students, researchers and teachers as it has widely covered the revised curricula (syllabi) of different Indian universities".

    Shri Prakash Singh, Professor, Department of Political Science, University of Delhi, New Delhi, India

    "Malik and Tomar have accomplished a truly academically rewarding endeavour by bringing together these brilliantly written essays about the political ideas of some of the greatest thinkers of modern India. A must-read for all those who may be interested in making sense of the idea of India".

    Ashutosh Kumar, Lala Lajpat Rai Chair Professor of Political Science, Panjab University, Chandigarh, India

    "This edited volume is a commendable attempt to bring out a compendium not only to providing an overview of the major political thinkers of modern India but also proclaiming to revisit the liberal-reformist, Gandhian and socialist traditions of modern Indian thought. It is undoubtedly a readable and appreciable book of its kind".

    Sanjeev Kumar Sharma, Vice-Chancellor, Mahatma Gandhi Central University, Motihari (Bihar) & General Secretary and Treasurer, Indian Political Science Association (IPSA), India