Revival: Handel (1906): 1st Edition (Paperback) book cover

Revival: Handel (1906)

1st Edition

By Richard Alexander Streatfield


408 pages

Purchasing Options:$ = USD
Paperback: 9781138567405
pub: 2019-01-31
Hardback: 9781138550971
pub: 2018-01-03

FREE Standard Shipping!


It is the inner meaning of Handel’s music, and its power of searching the profoundest recesses of the soul, that in the following pages the author has endeavoured, so far as the author was able, to elucidate. Its merely technical qualities have already been discussed enough and to spare. Books on Handel written by musicians already abound, but musicians as a rule take more interest in the means by which an end is attained than the end itself. They tell us a great deal about the methods by which a composer expresses himself, but very little about what he actually has to express. The author has tried, how feebly and with what little success no one knows better than himself, to find the man Handel in his music, to trace his character, his view of life, his thoughts, feelings, and aspirations, as they are set forth in his works.

Table of Contents

1. Handel at Halle, 1685-1703 2. Handel at Hamburg, 1703-1706 3. Handel in Italy, 1706-1710 4. Handel’s First Visit to England, 1710-1711 5. Handel’s Second Visit to England, 1712-1717 6. Canons and the Royal Academy of Music, 1718-1726 7. Faustina and Cuzzoni, 1726-1728 8. Handel as Manager, 1728-1732 9. Struggles and Defeats, 1732-1737 10. Ecce Convertimur ad Gentes ! 1737-1741 11. Handel in Ireland, 1741-1742 12. The Second Bankruptcy, 1742-1745 13. The Turn of the Tide 1745-1751 14. Handel’s Blindness and Death 1751-1759 15. The Operas 16. Oratorios and Other Choral Works 17. The Messiah 18. The Later Oratorios 19. Instrumental Works Appendix A Appendix B Appendix C Index

About the Author

Richard Alexander Streatfield was an English musicologist and critic. His career was spent at the British Museum, although not in its music department. His publications included books on opera, Handel and modern music.

About the Series

Routledge Revivals

Are there elusive titles that you need and have been trying to source for years but thought that you would never be able to find?

Well this may be the end of your quest – here is a fantastic opportunity for you to discover past brilliance and purchase previously out of print and unavailable titles by some of the world’s most eminent academic scholars.

Drawing from over 100 years of innovative, cutting-edge publishing, Routledge Revivals is an exciting programme whereby key titles from the distinguished and extensive backlist of the many acclaimed imprints associated with Routledge will be re-issued.

The programme draws upon the illustrious backlists of Kegan Paul, Trench & Trubner, Routledge & Kegan Paul, Methuen, Allen & Unwin and Routledge itself.

Routledge Revivals spans the whole of the Humanities and Social Sciences, and includes works by some of the world’s greatest thinkers including Emile Durkheim, Max Weber, Simone Weil, Martin Buber, Karl Jaspers and Max Beloff.

If you are interested in Revivals in the Behavioral Sciences, please visit

Learn more…

Subject Categories

BISAC Subject Codes/Headings:
MUSIC / History & Criticism
MUSIC / Genres & Styles / Opera
MUSIC / Individual Composer & Musician
SOCIAL SCIENCE / Media Studies