1st Edition

Revival: Hindu Mysticism (1934)
According to the Upanisads

ISBN 9781138567696
Published January 30, 2019 by Routledge
358 Pages

USD $69.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

Hindu Mysticism provides an engaging introduction to the various mystical traditions that evolved over the centuries in India, including the sacrificial (Vedic), Upanishadic, Yogic, Buddhist, Classical Bhakti (Devotional) and Popular Bhakti. Given its sweeping scope, the text also serves as a useful overview to Indian thought for newcomers to this ancient philosophical and spiritual tradition.

Table of Contents

Forward 1. Introduction to the Upanisads 2. Phases of Immediate Experience 3. The Upanisadic View of Truth 4. The Delight Supernal 5. Truth and Value 6. The immanent and the Transcendent 7. ‘That Thou Art’ 8. The Evolution of the conception of the Ultimate Reality 9. Phases of Dynamic Devine 10. Esoteric Realisations 11. The one and the Many 12. Two Attitudes 13. Time and spiritual Life 14. Esoteric and Exoteric Knowledge 15. Two Paths 16. The Fiver Sheaths 17. Symbolism 18. Rhythm of Life and the States of Consciousness 19. Abode of Brahman 20. Negative path 21. Self as Percipience 22. Psychism and Knowledge 23. Life though four stages 24. The wise Man 25. Ways of Exit 26. Release Index.

View More



Mahendralal Sircar, (1833–1904) was a homoeopath doctor, social reformer, and propagator of scientific studies in nineteenth-century India. He was the founder of the Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science.