Revival: Life of Richard Wagner, Vol. I (1900): The Art Work of the Future, 1st Edition (Paperback) book cover

Revival: Life of Richard Wagner, Vol. I (1900)

The Art Work of the Future, 1st Edition

By Carl Friedrich Glasenapp


418 pages

Purchasing Options:$ = USD
Paperback: 9781138567085
pub: 2019-01-30
SAVE ~$14.99
Hardback: 9781138551060
pub: 2018-01-03
SAVE ~$54.00
eBook (VitalSource) : 9781315123998
pub: 2018-04-20
from $37.48

FREE Standard Shipping!


This volume brings our story down to 1843, an important era in Richard Wagner’s Life, with his entry, as composer, of two successful operas, upon a so-called "practical" career at one of the principal German theatres.

Table of Contents

INTRODUCTORY 1. Family History 2. Adolf Wagner 3. Friedrich Wagner 4. Ludwig Geyer FIRST BOOK: CHILDHOOD AND YOUTH (1813-1833) 1. The Year 1813 2. Removal to Dresden 3. Geyer’s Last Years 4. Richard Wagner as Child 5. The Kreuzschuler 6. Leipzig 7. Leipzig Court-Theatre, and July Revolution 8. The Student of Music 9. The C Major Symphony SECOND BOOK; STRAYINGS AND WANDERINGS (1833-1843) 1. Wurzburg: "Die Feen" 2. "Das Liebesverbot" 3. Magdeburg 4. Rosalie Wagner 5. Konigsberg 6. Riga 7. "Rienzi, Der Letzte Der Tribunen" 8. From Riga to Paris 9. First Parisian Disappointments 10. Completion of "Rienzi" 11. "Der Fliegende Hollander" 12. Dresden APPENDICES I. Genealogical Table II. Family Chronicle 1643-1813 III. Supplemental Notes Index

About the Series

Routledge Revivals

Are there elusive titles that you need and have been trying to source for years but thought that you would never be able to find?

Well this may be the end of your quest – here is a fantastic opportunity for you to discover past brilliance and purchase previously out of print and unavailable titles by some of the world’s most eminent academic scholars.

Drawing from over 100 years of innovative, cutting-edge publishing, Routledge Revivals is an exciting programme whereby key titles from the distinguished and extensive backlist of the many acclaimed imprints associated with Routledge will be re-issued.

The programme draws upon the illustrious backlists of Kegan Paul, Trench & Trubner, Routledge & Kegan Paul, Methuen, Allen & Unwin and Routledge itself.

Routledge Revivals spans the whole of the Humanities and Social Sciences, and includes works by some of the world’s greatest thinkers including Emile Durkheim, Max Weber, Simone Weil, Martin Buber, Karl Jaspers and Max Beloff.

If you are interested in Revivals in the Behavioral Sciences, please visit

Learn more…

Subject Categories

BISAC Subject Codes/Headings:
ART / General
MUSIC / Genres & Styles / Opera
MUSIC / Individual Composer & Musician
SOCIAL SCIENCE / Media Studies