1st Edition

Revival: Modern Music and Musicians (1906)

  • This format cannot be shipped to your selected country.
ISBN 9781138568860
Published January 30, 2019 by Routledge
460 Pages

USD $69.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

A plethora of biographical accounts of some of the contemporary composers and musicians at the turn of the twentieth century.

Table of Contents

1. The Beginnings of Modern Music 2. Palestrina 3. The Secularisation of Music 4. Purcell 5. Bach and Handel 6. Gluck 7. Haydn 8. Mozart 9. Beethoven 10. Weber 11. Schubert 12. Berlioz 13. Mendelssohn and Schumann 14. Chopin and Liszt 15. Wagner 16. Verdi 17. Brahms 18. Tchaikovsky 19. Richard Strauss Index

View More



Richard Alexander Streatfield was an English musicologist and critic. His career was spent at the British Museum, although not in its music department. From 1889 until his death he served in the Department of Printed Books at the British Museum. From 1898 to 1902 he was also music critic of The Daily Graphic. He was a frequent contributor to English and foreign journals