Revival: Outspoken Essays on Music (1922)  book cover
1st Edition

Revival: Outspoken Essays on Music (1922)

ISBN 9781138563087
Published January 31, 2019 by Routledge
202 Pages

SAVE $14.09
was $46.95
USD $32.86

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

A series of essays on reactions and emotional responses to music.

Table of Contents

PART I 1. The Ideas of M. Vincent D’Indy 2. The Manuscript Libretto of "Faust" 3. Liszt, the Pianist 4. The False Masterpieces of Music 5. A Note on Rameau 6. A Chopin M.S.: The F Major Ballade in the Making PART II 7. Helene 8. Sarasate 9. Musical Digressions 10. The Metronome 11. Observations of a Friend of Animals 12. Impressions of America 13. Chopin 14. Charles Gounod on Mozarts "Don Juan" 15. The Origin of Samson and Delilah 16. Modern Music 17. Gounod

View More



Charles-Camille Saint-Saëns (9 October 1835 – 16 December 1921) was a French composer, organist, conductor and pianist of the Romantic era. His best-known works include Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso (1863), the Second Piano Concerto (1868), the First Cello Concerto (1872), Danse macabre (1874), the opera Samson and Delilah (1877), the Third Violin Concerto (1880), the Third ("Organ") Symphony (1886) and The Carnival of the Animals (1886).