1st Edition

Roland Barthes

  • This format is currently out of stock.
ISBN 9780745007229
Published March 1, 1994 by Routledge
184 Pages

USD $56.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

This comprehensive introductory study considers the full range of Barthes' work - from his early structuralist phase, through his post-structuralist explorations of "Text", to his late writings. In looking at the late work, often of an autobiographical or personal-lyrical nature, Rylance examines the relationship between the critical and the personal, as well as Barthes' relation to developments in feminism and postmodernism. Throughout, Barthes' writings are presented as paradigmatic of many of the major shifts in intellectual opinion in the post-war period. The book is part of a series reflecting the broad spectrum of modern European and American theory. It focuses on those cultural theorists who have had the most significant impact in the 20th century. The series aims to show how modern thinkers differ in their aproaches to interpreting culture, texts, society, language, history, gender and social life. Designed to be accessible to students, each volume in the series the thought and work of often difficult theorists in a clear and informative way, balancing exposition and critique.

Table of Contents

Chronology  Historical and Critical Context  Barthes Hot and Cold  Early Work  Judging By Nausea  Solitary Style  The Inferno of Meanings  Mythography  Structuralist Analysis and Popular Culture  Theory  Applications  Parallels. Works and Texts  Poststructural Barthes  Hot Roses  Barthes's Poststructuralism  The Arts of Pleasure and Noise  Work and Play  Selves and Lovers  Late Barthes  The Book of the Self  The Festival of Meaning  The Self Surprised

View More