Routledge Handbook of Asian Parliaments  book cover
1st Edition

Routledge Handbook of Asian Parliaments

  • Available for pre-order on February 24, 2023. Item will ship after March 17, 2023
ISBN 9780367624231
March 17, 2023 Forthcoming by Routledge
408 Pages 3 B/W Illustrations

FREE Standard Shipping
SAVE $50.00
was $250.00
USD $200.00

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

This Handbook showcases the rich varieties of legislatures that exist in Asia and explains how political power is constituted in seventeen jurisdictions in East, Southeast and South Asia.

Legislatures in Asia come in all stripes. Liberal democracies co-exist cheek by jowl with autocracies; semi-democratic and competitive authoritarian systems abound. While all legislatures exist to make law and confer legitimacy on the political leadership, how representative they are of the people they govern differs dramatically across the continent, such that it is impossible to identify a common Asian prototype. Divided into thematic and country-by-country sections, this handbook is a one-stop reference that surveys the range of political systems operating in Asia. Each jurisdiction chapter examines the structure and composition of its legislature, the powers of the legislature, the legislative process, thereby providing a clear picture of how each legislature operates both in theory and in practice. The book also thematically analyses the following political systems operating in Asia: communist regimes, liberal democracies, dominant party democracies, turbulent democracies, presidential democracies, military regimes, and protean authoritarian rule.

This handbook is a vital and comprehensive resource for scholars of constitutional law and politics in Asia.

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Po Jen Yap and Rehan Abeyratne

    Part I: Thematic Chapters

  3. Communist Regimes
  4. Po Jen Yap and Chen Yu-Jie

  5. Liberal Democracies
  6. Chien-Chih Lin

  7. Dominant-Party Democracies
  8. Po Jen Yap and Marcus Teo

  9. Turbulent Democracies
  10. Rehan Abeyratne

  11. Presidential Democracies
  12. Bjoern Dressel and Fakhrido Susilo

    Part II: Jurisdiction Chapters

  13. Bangladesh Jatiya Sangsad (The Parliament of Bangladesh)
  14. M Jashim Ali Chowdhury

  15. Cambodia: The National Assembly and Senate of the Kingdom of Cambodia
  16. Benjamin Lawrence

  17. The National People’s Congress in China
  18. Sun Ying

  19. The Legislative Council of Hong Kong
  20. Eric Chan

  21. The Parliament and State Legislatures of India
  22. Mohsin Alam Bhat

  23. The Legislatures of Indonesia
  24. Simon Butt and Tim Lindsey

  25. The Japanese Diet
  26. Shigenori Matsui

  27. The Parliament of Malaysia
  28. Wong Chin Huat

  29. The Legislature (Pyidaungsu Hluttaw) of Myanmar
  30. Richard Roewer and Htoo Khant Paing Han

  31. The Parliament of Pakistan
  32. Mariam Mufti

  33. The Congress of the Philippines
  34. Bryan Dennis G Tiojanco and Ronald Ray K San Juan

  35. The Parliament of Singapore
  36. Eugene Tan

  37. The National Assembly of the Republic of Korea
  38. Sang-Un Park

  39. The Parliament of Sri Lanka
  40. Dinesha Samararatne

  41. The Legislative Yuan of Taiwan
  42. Yen-Tu Su

  43. The Legislative Assembly of Thailand
  44. Khemthong Tonsakulrungruang and Aua-aree Engchanil

  45. The National Assembly of Vietnam

Ngoc Son Bui







View More



Po Jen Yap is a Professor in the Faculty of Law at the University of Hong Kong, where he specialises in Constitutional and Administrative Law.

Rehan Abeyratne is an Associate Professor of Law at The Chinese University of Hong Kong, where he specialises in constitutional law and comparative constitutionalism.