Samuel Holyoke (1762-1820) and Jacob Kimball (1761-1826) : Selected Works book cover
1st Edition

Samuel Holyoke (1762-1820) and Jacob Kimball (1761-1826)
Selected Works

ISBN 9781315051123
Published November 25, 2020 by Routledge
256 Pages

FREE Standard Shipping

What are VitalSource eBooks?

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

This series presents the music of early American composers of sacred music・psalmody, as it was called・in collected critical editions. Each volume has been prepared by a scholar who has studied the musical history of the period and the stylistic qualities of the composer. The purpose of the series is to present the music of important early American composers in accurate editions for both performance and study. This volume presents representative compositions by two American psalmodists, Samuel Holyoke and Jacob Kimball, who were actively engaged in the reform of American psalmody during the 1790s and early 1800s. American compositions were often criticized for two features: their failure to conform to the harmonic norms of European art music and their often vigorous, animated musical style, which was sometimes considered lacking in a reverent spirit appropriate for use in public worship

Table of Contents

Introduction to this Volume, Selected Works of Samuel Holyoke, Selected Works of Jacob Kimball, Abbreviations and Short Titles, Commentaries, Index of Time Names, Index of First Lines.

View More



Harry Eskew (Edited by) ,  Karl Kroeger (Edited by)