1st Edition

Shakespeare's Comedies
Explorations in Form

  • Available for pre-order. Item will ship after January 30, 2022
ISBN 9781138120464
January 30, 2022 Forthcoming by Routledge
224 Pages

USD $44.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

In this lucid and original study, first published in 1972, Ralph Berry discusses the ten comedies that run from The Comedy of Errors to Twelfth Night. Berry’s purpose is to identify the form of each play by relating the governing idea of the play to the action that expresses it. To this end the author employs a variety of standpoints and techniques, and taken together, these chapters present a lively and coherent view of Shakespeare’s techniques, concerns, and development. This title will be of interests to students of literature and drama.

Table of Contents

Introduction;  1. "And here we wander in illusions"  2. Love and Friendship  3. The Rules of the Game  4. The Words of Marcy  5. The Dream and the Play  6. The Merchant of Venice  7. The Revenger’s Comedy  8. Problems of Knowing  9. No Exit from Arden  10. The Messages of Twelfth Night;  Index

View More