Solzhenitsyn : A Biography book cover
1st Edition

A Biography

ISBN 9780367720711
Published June 16, 2021 by Routledge
1070 Pages

FREE Standard Shipping
USD $280.00

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

This book, first published in 1984, was the first full biography of Solzhenitsyn. Starting with his childhood, it covers every period of his life in considerable detail, showing how Solzhenitsyn’s development paralleled and mirrored the development of Soviet society: ambitious and idealistic in the twenties and thirties, preoccupied with the struggle for survival in the forties, hopeful in the fifties and sixties and disillusioned in the seventies. Solzhenitsyn’s life thus serves as a paradigm for the history of twentieth-century Communism and for the intelligentsia’s attitudes to Communism. At the same time, this book relates Solzhenitsyn’s life to his works, all of which contain a large element of autobiography.

Table of Contents

1. Out of Chaos and Suffering  2. Childhood  3. Farewell to the Old World  4. Writer and Communist  5. Marriage  6. Fighting for the Fatherland  7. Arrest  8. An Enemy of the Toiling Masses  9. Two Are An Organisation  10. First Steps in the Archipelago  11. To the New Jerusalem  12. Life Among the Trusties  13. Special-Assignment Prisoner  14. In the First Circle  15. The Parting of the Ways  16. Not Quite Siberia  17. A Son of Gulag  18. Exiled ‘In Perpetuity’  19. Cancer Ward  20. Matryona’s Place  21. The Schoolmaster from Ryazan  22. On the Threshold  23. Breakthrough  24. A True Helper of the Party  25. The Crest of the Wave  26. First Doubts  27. Lenin Prize Candidate  28. Not Another Pasternak  29. Enter the KGB  30. The Turning-Point  31. A Period of Adjustment  32. The Best Form of Defence  33. Letter to the Writers’ Congress  34. Playing the Western Card  35. Portrait of the Artist at Fifty  36. Expulsion from the Writers’ Union  37. The Taming of Novy Mir  38. The Nobel Prize  39. The Start of a Vast Enterprise  40. Death of a Poet  41. Whose Life Is It Anyway?  42. Divorce  43. Coming Into the Open  44. The Gulag Archipelago  45. Deported  46. First Months in the West  47. Taking Positions  48. Clarifications  49. On the Move  50. Talking to the Europeans  51. The Sage of Vermont  52. Epilogue

View More



Michael Scammell