Sonic Art : An Introduction to Electroacoustic Music Composition book cover
1st Edition

Sonic Art
An Introduction to Electroacoustic Music Composition

ISBN 9781138925038
Published April 1, 2016 by Routledge
272 Pages

FREE Standard Shipping
USD $54.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

Written by an active composer, performer and educator, Sonic Art: An Introduction to Electroacoustic Music Composition provides a clear and informative introduction to the compositional techniques behind electroacoustic music. It brings together theory, aesthetics, context and practical applications to allow students to start thinking about sound creatively, and gives them the tools to compose meaningful sonic art works.

In addition to explaining the techniques and philosophies of sonic art, the book examines over forty composers and their works, introducing the history and context of notable pieces, and includes chapters on how to present compositions professionally, in performance and online. The book is supported by an online software toolkit which enables readers to start creating their own compositions. Encouraging a ‘hands on’ approach to working with sound, Sonic Art is the perfect introduction for anyone interested in electroacoustic music and crafting art from sounds.

Table of Contents


1. What is Sound?

2. What Does All this Software Do?

3. The Theory of Opposites

4. Multi-channel Composition

5. Examples from the Repertoire

6. Space and Time

7. Philosophical Reasonings

8. The Presentation of Your Work in Performance

9. The Presentation of Your Work Outside Performance

Appendix A. USSS Toolkits

Appendix B. Composer Recollections

Appendix C. Binary Representations

Appendix D. Puredata (Pd)


View More



Adrian Moore is Reader in Music at the University of Sheffield and Director of the University of Sheffield Sound Studios. He is an active composer and performer of electroacoustic music.


"Through this excellent book, Adrian Moore acts both as a conscientious guide for neophyte composers using sound and technology as well as an expert mentor to more experienced practitioners. Written in an approachable style but never talking down to the reader, it is an essential addition to any music and technology course reading list."
—Pete Stollery, Professor of Electroacoustic Music and Composition, University of Aberdeen