Spanish Islam: A History of the Moslems in Spain, 1st Edition (Paperback) book cover

Spanish Islam

A History of the Moslems in Spain, 1st Edition

By Reinhardt Dozy


766 pages

Purchasing Options:$ = USD
Paperback: 9781138235441
pub: 2018-07-24
Hardback: 9781138235373
pub: 2017-01-13
Currently out of stock
eBook (VitalSource) : 9781315304717
pub: 2017-01-12
from $32.50

FREE Standard Shipping!


Originally published in 1913, this book contains the English translation of Reinhardt’s Dozy’s notable work, Histoire des Musalman’s d’Espagne. First published in 1861, this comprehensive work chronicles the extensive history of Islam in Spain. The introduction by the translator provides a useful overview of Reinhardt’s Dozy’s life and career.

This comprehensive work will be of interest to those studying the history of Islam and Spain.

Table of Contents

Translator’s Preface; Biographical Introduction; Author’s Preface; Book 1: The Civil Wars; 1. The Bedawin 2. The Prophet 3. Rise of the Omayyads 4. Yazid I 5. The Sack of Medina 6. Yemenites and Ma’addites 7. Kharejites and Shi’ites 8. Kelbites and Kaisites 9. Kelbites and Kaisites (continued) 10. The Berbers 11. Syrians and Medinese in Spain 12. Sumayl Ibn Hatim 13. ‘Abd-er-Rahman’s Wanderings 14. ‘Abd-er-Rahman in Spain 15. ‘Abd-er-Rahman I 16. ‘Abd-er-Rahman I (continued); Book 2: Christians and Renegades; 1. Spain under the Visigoths 2. The Conquest 3. The Day of Fosse 4. Hakam I 5. ‘Abd-er-Rahman II 6. Eulogius and Flora 7. The Martyrs of Cordova 8. Accession of Mohammed 9. Emirate of Mohammed 10. The Mountaineers of Regio 11. ‘Omar ibn Hafsun 12. Sauwar 13. The Renegades of Seville 14. ‘Abdallah 15. The Battle of Polei 16. ‘Abdallah (continued) 17. ‘Abd-er-Rahman III 18. ‘Abd-er-Rahman Supreme; Book 3: The Khalifate; 1. The Fatimids 2. Supremacy of ‘Abd-er-Rahman III 3. Fernan Gonzalez 4. Sancho the Fat 5. Hakam II 6. Ibn Abi ‘Amir 7. Accession of Hisham II 8. The Fall of Mus-hafy 9. Almanzor 10. Almanzor (continued) 11. Santiago de Compostela 12. Death of Almanzor 13. Sanchol 14. Mahdi 15. The Sack of Cordova 16. The Hammudites 17. ‘Abd-er-Rahman V and Ibn Hazm 18. The Fall of the Khalifate; Book IV: The Petty Tyrants; 1. The Kady of Seville 2. Samuel Ha-levi and Ibn Abbas 3. Abu ‘L-Fotuh 4. Malaga 5. Al-Mu’tadid 6. Al-Mu’tadid (continued) 7. Al-Mu’tadid (continued) 8. Death of Mu’tadid 9. Mu’tamid and Ibn ‘Ammar 10. Mu’tamid 11. The Fall of Ibn ‘Ammar 12. Alfonso VI – Battle of Zallaka 13. Yusuf ibn Tashifin 14. The Rule of the Almoravides 15. Mu’tamid in Exile; Chronological Tables; Authorities; Index

About the Series

Routledge Library Editions: International Islam

First published between 1832 and 1994, this 6 volume set examines the history of Islam in a variety of regions across the world. Spanning continents from Africa, to Asia, North America and Europe, and ranging from 19th century ethnographical studies to modern day historical research, these titles not only show the diversity within this global religion, but also how the study of Islam has changed over time. The titles in this set will be of interest to those studying the history of Islam as well as those who wish to interrogate the study of religion and international communities itself.

Learn more…

Subject Categories

BISAC Subject Codes/Headings:
HISTORY / General
LITERARY CRITICISM / European / Spanish & Portuguese
LITERARY CRITICISM / Subjects & Themes / Religion
SOCIAL SCIENCE / Islamic Studies