1st Edition

Sweet Thunder
Music and Libretti in 1960s Italy

  • Available for pre-order. Item will ship after September 29, 2020
ISBN 9780367604295
September 29, 2020 Forthcoming by Routledge
304 Pages

USD $47.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

This book offers a detailed examination of the literary influences behind the experimental music of five twentieth-century Italian composers: Luigi Dallapiccola, Bruno Maderna, Luciano Berio, Giacomo Manzoni and Armando Gentilucci.

Table of Contents

Introduction 1. Twentieth-Century Italian Music in the Context of European and American Experimentalism from Verismo to the Seventies 2. Luigi Dallapiccola's Ulisse (1960–68) 3. Luciano Berio's Laborintus II (1965) 4. Armando Gentilucci's Strofe di Ungaretti (1967) 5. Giacomo Manzoni's Parole da Beckett (1970) 6. Bruno Maderna's Ausstrahlung (1971) 7. Conclusion

View More



Vivienne Suvini-Hand