The Break with the Past: Avant-Garde Architecture in Germany, 1910 – 1925, 1st Edition (Paperback) book cover

The Break with the Past

Avant-Garde Architecture in Germany, 1910 – 1925, 1st Edition

By Deborah Ascher Barnstone


214 pages

Purchasing Options:$ = USD
Paperback: 9780367207984
pub: 2019-01-17
Hardback: 9781138101609
pub: 2017-08-21
eBook (VitalSource) : 9781315656830
pub: 2017-08-15
from $24.98

FREE Standard Shipping!


Between 1918 and 1933 the German interwar avant-garde was a primary force driving European cultural innovation and modernism. These innovations continue to influence artistic practice, theory, and arts education today, thus making a comprehensive study of the relationship between individual war experience and the immediate response of avant-garde architects after the war all the more important.

The Break with the Past pursues several important, interrelated questions. What were the disparate war experiences of German architects, and did they have different effects on Weimar cultural production? Did political orientation play a part in support for the war? In aesthetic choices? What changes occurred in avant-garde architectural practice after 1918? How do they compare with pre-war positions and practices, and expectations for post-war outcomes? In order to address these questions, the book uses individual case studies of four leading architects: Bruno Taut, Walter Gropius, Erich Mendelsohn, and Hans Scharoun.

This is a valuable resource for academics and students in the areas of Art and Architecture History, German history and Cultural Studies, European Culture and Modernism.

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction: Architecture in Transition: Germany’s Avant-garde before the First World I and the Weimar Republic
  2. Bruno Taut: Before the War
  3. Bruno Taut: War Years Resistance
  4. Bruno Taut: Leading the Avant-garde
  5. Walter Gropius: Career Beginnings
  6. Walter Gropius: War Service on the Western Front
  7. Walter Gropius: Rise to Prominence
  8. Erich Mendelsohn: Born Revolutionary
  9. Erich Mendelsohn: The War Years
  10. Erich Mendelsohn: After the War
  11. Hans Scharoun: Bremen and Berlin
  12. Hans Scharoun: On the Eastern Front
  13. Hans Scharoun: The Interwar Years
  14. Art and the Revolution

About the Author

Deborah Ascher Barnstone is a Professor of Architecture at the University of Technology Sydney, Australia.

About the Series

Routledge Research in Architecture

The Routledge Research in Architecture series provides the reader with the latest scholarship in the field of architecture. The series publishes research from across the globe and covers areas as diverse as architectural history and theory, technology, digital architecture, structures, materials, details, design, monographs of architects, interior design and much more. By making these studies available to the worldwide academic community, the series aims to promote quality architectural research.

Learn more…

Subject Categories

BISAC Subject Codes/Headings: