1st Edition

The Brontë Novels (Routledge Revivals)

By W. A. Craik Copyright 1968
    274 Pages
    by Routledge

    282 Pages
    by Routledge

    First published in 1968, this reissue of Dr. Craik’s critical appreciation of the completed novels of Charlotte, Emily and Anne Brontë is seminal for the way in which it shifts emphasis away from the Brontë family biography towards a detailed critical analysis of the novels themselves.

    Separate chapters are given to each of the seven novels. The author’s aims and techniques in each are assessed and Dr. Craik shows what light the books throw on each other, how they are related to the novels of the Brontë’s predecessors, and how the Brontë novels compare with their great contemporaries in the nineteenth century novel.

    1. Wuthering Heights  2. The Professor  3. Jane Eyre  4. Shirley  5. Villette  6. Agnes Grey  7. The Tennant of Wildfell Hall


    W. A. Craik

    ‘An excellent book … It is written with a clarity of expression and a quickness of perception that should ensure it a long and useful life.’ – English