The Life of Niccolò Machiavelli (Routledge Library Editions: Political Science Volume 26): 1st Edition (Hardback) book cover

The Life of Niccolò Machiavelli (Routledge Library Editions: Political Science Volume 26)

1st Edition

By Roberto Ridolfi


364 pages

Purchasing Options:$ = USD
Hardback: 9780415555661
pub: 2009-10-06
SAVE ~$37.00
eBook (VitalSource) : 9780203706046
pub: 2013-06-17
from $28.98

FREE Standard Shipping!


This biography of Macchiavelli is widely regarded as Ridolfi’s masterpiece and is based on much material drawn from private and public archives. It presents a fresh interpretation of Macchiavelli’s career and writings and here, for example the dating of the composition of such famous works as the Prince and the Mandragola is established for the first time. This English translation, when originally published in 1963 included numerous correction and additions which brought it up to date with the most recent studies on Macchiavelli and his works.

Table of Contents

1. Early Life and Education 2. Niccolò Machiavelli Secretary 3. The First Commission 4. The First Mission to France 5. The Rebellions of Subject States and the Campaigns of Caesar Borgia 6. The Mission to Caesar Borgia 7. The First Roman Legation 8. The Second Mission to France The First "Decannale" The Militia 9. The Florentine Histories The Second Legation to Julius II 10. The German Legation The War and the Retaking of Pisa 11. Mission to Mantua and Verona. The Third Mission to France. 12. The Twelfth Hour 13. "Sorrowful Macchiavelli" 14. The "Idleness" of Sant’Andrea: The Discourses and the Prince 15. Love and Suffering 16. Literary Diversions: The Ass, Mandragola, Belfagor 17. The "Life of Castruccio" and the "art of War". Histories for Florins. 18. The Legation to the Fanciscans 19. Niccolò Machiavelli, Historian 20. Niccolò Machiavelli, Historian and Comedian 21. Niccolò Machiavelli, "Historian, Comic and Tragic Author" 22. "Sixty Years" 23. The End. 24. The Unarmed Prophet

Subject Categories

BISAC Subject Codes/Headings: