The New Black Sociologists: Historical and Contemporary Perspectives, 1st Edition (Paperback) book cover

The New Black Sociologists

Historical and Contemporary Perspectives, 1st Edition

Edited by Marcus A. Hunter

Routledge

246 pages

Purchasing Options:$ = USD
Paperback: 9781138046610
pub: 2018-07-24
SAVE ~$7.19
$35.95
$28.76
x
Hardback: 9781138046580
pub: 2018-06-20
SAVE ~$33.00
$165.00
$132.00
x
eBook (VitalSource) : 9780429507687
pub: 2018-07-04
from $17.98


FREE Standard Shipping!

Description

The New Black Sociologists follows in the footsteps of 1974’s pioneering text Black Sociologists: Historical and Contemporary Perspectives, by tracing the organization of its forbearer in key thematic ways. This new collection of essays revisit the legacies of significant Black scholars including James E. Blackwell, William Julius Wilson, Joyce Ladner, and Mary Pattillo, but also extends coverage to include overlooked figures like Audre Lorde, Ida B. Wells, James Baldwin and August Wilson - whose lives and work have inspired new generations of Black sociologists on contemporary issues of racial segregation, feminism, religiosity, class, inequality and urban studies.

Reviews

Fanon said that "every generation must find its mission" and this generation’s mission is clearly articulated in The New Black Sociologists. The new black sociology should be unconditionally black feminist and intersectional, adopt a more international perspective, recognize the importance of "lay theorists" and experiential knowledge, and be deeply committed to defending black people against the physical and emotional violence racism and the racists inflict on them. We are all indebted to Marcus Anthony Hunter for gathering these powerful voices in this book, a book destined to become a classic!

Eduardo Bonilla-Silva, Duke University, Author of Racism without Racists

Once in a great while a book comes along to reveal the field of Sociology’s smugness about race, about black identity, about whiteness. Once in a great while a book challenges the mainstream sociology of racism, or even reinvents it, putting black scholars at the center of its account. In the tradition of Joyce Ladner and Patricia Hill Collins, and firmly situated in the legacy of W.E.B Du Bois, Marcus Anthony Hunter’s edited collection, The New Black Sociologists, is such a book. Highly recommended for course adoption!

Howard Winant, University of California, Santa Barbara

Bravo! Another must-read book from the Black critical tradition. From its beginning Black social analysts have led in critically understanding this country’s still-foundational white racism. Here contemporary Black critical sociologists not only assess known and forgotten thought leaders and activists of the past and present, but also provocatively research and weigh contemporary racial, class, gender issues their critical heritage enables them to comprehend more clearly than most analysts of our era.

Joe R. Feagin, Texas A&M University, Author of The White Racial Frame, 2e

Table of Contents

Introduction

Part One: HIDDEN FIGURES

1. #SayHerName: Why Black Women Matter in Sociology

Hedwig Lee and Christina Hughes

2. Rewriting Wright: A Note on Perspective in Method and Writing

B. Brian Foster

3. James Baldwin and the Lay Race Theorist Tradition

Antonia Randolph

4. Black versus European: Frantz Fanon and the Over determination of Blackness

Jean Beaman

5. The Sociology of Stuart Hall

Marcus Anthony Hunter

6. The Cigar Annie's of August Wilson: Ethnographically Unmasking Black Women's Invisibility

Rashida Z. Shaw McMahon

7. Zora Neale Hurston and Ethnography of Black Life

Ashantè Reese

8. Poking and Prying With a Purpose: Zora Neale Hurston and Black Feminist Sociology

Tennille Nicole Allen

Part Two: BEHIND THE VEIL

9. When and Where I Always Enter: An Auto-Ethnographic Approach to Black Women's Body Size Politics in Academia

Courtney Patterson-Faye

10. School Daze: Patricia Hill Collins, a College Classroom, and a New Sociology of Race

Adia Harvey Wingfield

11. A History of White Violence Tells Us Attacks on Black Academics are not Ending (I know because it happened to me)

Saida Grundy

12. A Love Letter to Black Graduate Students

Karida L. Brown

13. No Fucks to Give: Dismantling the Respectability Politics of White Supremacist Sociology

Crystal Marie Fleming

Part Three: BLACK ON BOTH SIDES

14. For, By and About: Notes on a Sociology of Black Liberation

Nina A. Johnson

15. The Evolution of #BlackLivesMatter

Rashawn Ray and Keon Gilbert

16. William Julius Wilson and the Study of the 'New' Diversity Elite Colleges

Anthony Abraham Jack

17. Black in Business and Ain't It Grand: Sharon M. Collins and the Re-Imagination of Black Professional Life

Corey D. Fields

18. Why Research on the Global Black Middle Class is Essential

Kris Marsh

19. On Second Sight, Surveillance & the Black Planet: Notes on a New Framework

Debanjan Roychoudhury

20. The New Black Sociology: Bringing Diasporic & Internationalist Perspectives

Orly Clerge

References

Notes

About the Editor

Marcus Anthony Hunter is Chair of the Department of African American Studies, Associate Professor of Sociology, and he holds the Scott Waugh Endowed Chair in the Division of Social Sciences at the University of California, Los Angeles. He is co-author of the forthcoming Chocolate Cities: The Black Map of American Life (2018) and the author of Black Citymakers: How the Philadelphia Negro Changed Urban America (2013), which was a finalist for the C. Wright Mills Award in 2013. His research and areas of specialization are in race; sexuality; urban race relations; and politics, history and change with a focus on urban black Americans.

About the Series

Sociology Re-Wired

This innovative series is for all readers interested in books that provide frameworks for making sense of the complexities of contemporary social life. Each of the books in this series uses a sociological lens to provide current critical and analytical perspectives on significant social issues, patterns and trends. The series consists of books that integrate the best ideas in sociological thought with an aim toward public education and engagement. These books are designed for use in the classroom as well as for scholars and socially curious general readers.

Learn more…

Subject Categories

BISAC Subject Codes/Headings:
SOC026000
SOCIAL SCIENCE / Sociology / General