The Northern Nilo-Hamites : East Central Africa Part VI book cover
1st Edition

The Northern Nilo-Hamites
East Central Africa Part VI

ISBN 9781138232143
Published January 2, 2019 by Routledge
114 Pages

FREE Standard Shipping
USD $44.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

Routledge is proud to be re-issuing this landmark series in association with the International African Institute. The series, originally published between 1950 and 1977, collected ethnographic information on the peoples of Africa, using all available sources: archives, memoirs and reports as well as anthropological research which, in 1945, had only just begun.

Concise, critical and (for its time) accurate, the Ethnographic Survey contains sections as follows:

  • Physical Environment
  • Linguistic Data
  • Demography
  • History & Traditions of Origin
  • Nomenclature
  • Grouping
  • Cultural Features: Religion, Witchcraft, Birth, Initiation, Burial
  • Social & Political Organization: Kinship, Marriage, Inheritance, Slavery, Land Tenure, Warfare & Justice
  • Economy & Trade
  • Domestic Architecture

Each of the 50 volumes will be available to buy individually, and these are organized into regional sub-groups: East Central Africa, North-Eastern Africa, Southern Africa, West Central Africa, Western Africa, and Central Africa Belgian Congo.

The volumes are supplemented with maps, available to view on or available as a pdf from the publishers.


Table of Contents

1. The Nilo-Hamites: General Introduction 2. Introduction to the Northern Nilo-Hamites. 3. The Bari 4. The Kuku 5. The kakwa 6. The Marshia 7. The Mondari 8. The Pöjulu 9. The Nyangbara 10. The Nyepu 11. The Luluba 12. The Lokoya 13. The Lotuko 14. The Laŋo

View More