The Permanent Under-Secretary for Foreign Affairs, 1854-1946  book cover
1st Edition

The Permanent Under-Secretary for Foreign Affairs, 1854-1946

ISBN 9780415542975
Published October 10, 2012 by Routledge
380 Pages 9 B/W Illustrations

FREE Standard Shipping
USD $49.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

Chief among the personnel at the Foreign Office is the Permanent Under-secretary, the senior civil servant who oversees the department and advises the Foreign Secretary. This book is a study of the twelve men who held this Office from 1854–1946.

Table of Contents

Introduction  1. Edmund Hammond (1854-1873)  2. Lord Tenterden (1873-1882)  3. Sir Julian Pauncefote (1882-1889)  4. Sir Philip Currie (1889-1893)  5. Sir Thomas Sanderson (1894-1906)  6. Sir Charles Hardinge (I) (1906-1910)  7. Sir Arthur Nicolson (1906-1910)  8. Sir Charles Hardinge (II) (1916-1920)  9. Sir Eyre Crowe (1920-1925)  10. Sir William Tyrrell (1925-1928) and Sir Ronald Lindsay (1928-29)  11. Sir Robert Vansittart (1930-1937)  12. Sir Alexander Cadogan (1938-1946).  Conclusion

View More



Keith Neilson is Professor of History at the Royal Military College of Canada.

T.G. Otte is Senior Lecturer in Diplomatic History at the University of East Anglia.