The Plays and Poems of Nicholas Rowe, Volume IV : Poems and Lucan’s Pharsalia (Books I-III) book cover
1st Edition

The Plays and Poems of Nicholas Rowe, Volume IV
Poems and Lucan’s Pharsalia (Books I-III)

ISBN 9781138762060
Published October 21, 2016 by Routledge
312 Pages

FREE Standard Shipping
USD $170.00

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

Nicholas Rowe was the first Poet Laureate of the Georgian era. A fascinating and important yet largely overlooked figure in eighteenth-century literature, he is the ‘lost Augustan’. His plays are important both for the way they address the political and social concerns of the day and for reflecting a period in which the theatre was in crisis. This edition sets out to demonstrate Rowe’s mastery of the early eighteenth century theatre, especially his providing significant roles for women, and examines the political and historical stances of his plays. It also highlights his work as a translator, which was both innovative and deeply in tune with current practices as exemplified by John Dryden and Alexander Pope. This is the first scholarly edition of all Rowe’s plays and poems and is accompanied by 15 musical scores and 31 black and white illustrations.

In this fourth volume his poetry and the first part of his translation of Lucan's Pharsalia, described by Samuel Johnson as one of the greatest productions in English poetry, is presented. A newly written explanatory introduction by Stephen Bernard to the poems, and by Robin Sowerby to the Pharsalia, precedes each of full edited texts. The second part of the text and textual apparatus are included with the fifth volume of this edition. A consolidated bibliography is also included with the final volume for ease of reference.

Table of Contents

Introduction to Rowe’s poems by Stephen Bernard

Poems edited by Stephen Bernard with The Golden Verses of Pythagoras edited by Scott Scullion

Appendix: the music of Rowe’s poetry by Joe Lockwood

Textual apparatus of Rowe’s poems by Stephen Bernard

Introduction to Lucan’s Pharsalia by Robin Sowerby

‘The Dedication’ by Anne Rowe and ‘The Preface Giving Some Account of Lucan and His Works, and of Mr. Rowe’ by James Welwood edited by Robin Sowerby

Lucan’s Pharsalia, Book I edited by Robin Sowerby

Lucan’s Pharsalia, Book II edited by Robin Sowerby

Lucan’s Pharsalia, Book III edited by Robin Sowerby

View More


"[T]he quality of the editorial work is uniformly excellent. The edition also includes a range of appendices containing a wealth of supplementary material including performance listings, prologues and epilogues, and, notably, all extant vocal music for Rowe’s dramas. The scores, beautifully edited by Joe Lockwood, are a significant contribution to our understanding of Rowe’s plays as the importance of music in Restoration and early eighteenth-century drama is often overlooked."

"...the very real contribution of this edition… illuminates Rowe’s literary career and, for the first time, establishes a scholarly text of his works."

- Jean L. Marsden, Review of English Studies