The Seven Concertos of Beethoven: 1st Edition (Paperback) book cover

The Seven Concertos of Beethoven

1st Edition

By Antony Hopkins


101 pages

Purchasing Options:$ = USD
Paperback: 9781138365575
pub: 2020-02-01
Available for pre-order. Item will ship after 1st February 2020
Hardback: 9781138365551
pub: 2019-06-05
eBook (VitalSource) : 9780429430688
pub: 2019-01-15
from $20.00

FREE Standard Shipping!


First published in 1996, this volume counters the attitude of paying more attention to the performer than to the piece. Too often, Anthony Hopkins argues, music is simply regarded as a pleasant background noise to accompany our other activities, whereas Beethoven offers much more than that. Hopkins aim to promote hearing, rather than listening. He examines Beethoven’s piano concertos numbers 1 through 5, along with the violin concerto in D Major, Op. 61, and the Triple Concerto, Op. 56.

Table of Contents

1. Introduction: The Concerto. 2. Piano Concerto No.1 in C Major, Op. 15. 3. Piano Concerto No.2 in B Flat Major, Op. 19. 4. Piano Concerto No.3 in C Minor, Op. 37. 5. Piano Concerto No.4 in G Major, Op. 58. 6. Piano Concerto No.5 in E Flat Major, Op. 73. 7. Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 61. 8. Triple Concerto, Op. 56.

About the Series

Routledge Revivals

Are there elusive titles that you need and have been trying to source for years but thought that you would never be able to find?

Well this may be the end of your quest – here is a fantastic opportunity for you to discover past brilliance and purchase previously out of print and unavailable titles by some of the world’s most eminent academic scholars.

Drawing from over 100 years of innovative, cutting-edge publishing, Routledge Revivals is an exciting programme whereby key titles from the distinguished and extensive backlist of the many acclaimed imprints associated with Routledge will be re-issued.

The programme draws upon the illustrious backlists of Kegan Paul, Trench & Trubner, Routledge & Kegan Paul, Methuen, Allen & Unwin and Routledge itself.

Routledge Revivals spans the whole of the Humanities and Social Sciences, and includes works by some of the world’s greatest thinkers including Emile Durkheim, Max Weber, Simone Weil, Martin Buber, Karl Jaspers and Max Beloff.

If you are interested in Revivals in the Behavioral Sciences, please visit

Learn more…

Subject Categories

BISAC Subject Codes/Headings:
MUSIC / General