1st Edition

The Southern Nilo-Hamites East Central Africa Part VIII

By G. W. B. Huntingford Copyright 1969
    156 Pages
    by Routledge

    156 Pages
    by Routledge

    Routledge is proud to be re-issuing this landmark series in association with the International African Institute. The series, originally published between 1950 and 1977, collected ethnographic information on the peoples of Africa, using all available sources: archives, memoirs and reports as well as anthropological research which, in 1945, had only just begun.

    Concise, critical and (for its time) accurate, the Ethnographic Survey contains sections as follows:

    • Physical Environment
    • Linguistic Data
    • Demography
    • History & Traditions of Origin
    • Nomenclature
    • Grouping
    • Cultural Features: Religion, Witchcraft, Birth, Initiation, Burial
    • Social & Political Organization: Kinship, Marriage, Inheritance, Slavery, Land Tenure, Warfare & Justice
    • Economy & Trade
    • Domestic Architecture

    Each of the 50 volumes will be available to buy individually, and these are organized into regional sub-groups: East Central Africa, North-Eastern Africa, Southern Africa, West Central Africa, Western Africa, and Central Africa Belgian Congo.

    The volumes are supplemented with maps, available to view on routledge.com or available as a pdf from the publishers.


    1. The Nandi Group: The Nandi, The Kipsikis or ‘Lumbwa’, The Dorobo of the North Tindiret Forest (Kipkurerek), the Dorobo of Kidoŋ (Keriita), the Kyo or Elgeyo, Remaining Tribes of of the Nandi Group (The kamasya or Tuken, Sapei, and Kony), the Suk, the Endo and Marakuet, the Barabaig 2. Masai Group 3. Unclassified Peoples: The Iraqw Cluster, the Hadzapi, the Sandawe.


    G. W. B. Huntingford