1st Edition

The Works of Patrick Branwell Brontë
Volume 3, 1837-1848

Edited By

Victor A. Neufeldt

ISBN 9781138929272
Published January 6, 2017 by Routledge
566 Pages

USD $66.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

This volume, first published in 1999, contains all of Patrick Branwell Brontë’s known writings, excluding his letters, from 1837 to 1848. This title primarily covers and depicts the end of the Angrian conflict, Branwell’s abandonment of the Angrian saga, and his attempts to establish himself as a published poet and a man of letters. All of the texts in this edition are based on Neufeldt’s own transcriptions of the manuscripts, or, where the manuscript is unavailable, on the most reliable accessible text. This edition serves as a record for the growth and development of Branwell’s writing, and it is hoped that it will help to dispel some of the myths and misconceptions that have become associated with Branwell’s name. This book will be of interest to students of English Literature.

Table of Contents

Acknowledgements;  List of Abbreviations;  Introduction;  The Writings of Patrick Branwell Brontë 1837-1847;  A Glossary of Glass Town/Angria Persons and Place-names;  Index of First Lines and Titles

View More



Multivolume collection by leading authors in the field