Three Versions of Judas  book cover
1st Edition

Three Versions of Judas

ISBN 9781845537029
Published August 8, 2014 by Routledge
224 Pages

SAVE ~ $9.39
was $46.95
USD $37.56

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

Judas Iscariot, known for his betrayal of Jesus, is a key figure in the Gospel narratives. As an insider become outsider, Judas demarcates Christian boundaries of good and evil. 'Three Versions of Judas' examines the role of Judas in Christian myth-making. The book draws on Jorge Luis Borges' "Three Versions of Judas" to present three Judases in the Gospels: a Judas necessary to the divine plan; a Judas who is a determined outsider, denying himself for God's glory; and a Judas who is demonic. Exploring the findings of biblical criticism and artistic responses to Judas, 'Three Versions of Judas' offers an analysis of the evil necessarily inherent in Christian narratives about Judas.

Table of Contents

Preface 1. From the Gospel to Borges and Back Again 2. The Canonical Judas: Oracular Betrayal 3. The Cooperative Judas: True Believer, Phantom of the Infinite 4. The Ascetic Judas: Judas the Scapegoat and Judas the Jew 5. Judas the God 6. Adding Evil to the Son

View More



Richard G. Walsh is Professor of Religion and Co-director of the Honors Program at Methodist University, Fayetteville, NC.