424 Pages
    by Routledge

    426 Pages
    by Routledge

    In addition, The Tone Clock contains a broad selection of Peter Schat's polemical writings, embracing historical, political, aesthetic and environmental perspectives. His book is not just of interest to composers, but it also provides a valuable insight for anyone interested in the development of twentieth-century music.
    Peter Schat, a former pupil of Pierre Boulez, exposes more than a new theory of music in The Tone Clock. Although he is a long-experienced serialist composer, in devising and using his tone clock system he has reached the clarity and simplicity which comprise two of his major compositional aims. His book, profusely illustrated with clearly analysed musical examples, will enable other composers to achieve similar aims in their own way, while remaining faithful to their own musical personalities.
    A former pupil of Pierre Boulez, Peter Schat is a well-known Dutch contemporary serialist composer.

    Introduction to the Series, Preface, Introduction, 1. Circular Fragment of a Theory, 2. The Dream of Reason, 3. The Reason of a Dream, 4. First Symphony, 5. Monkey Subdues the White Bone Demon, 6. The Tone Clock, 7. Chromatica I The Regime of the Triad, 8. Symposion, 9. The Opening Chord, 10. Theme on the Wall, 11. The Masterchild, 12. Musical Time and Musicality, 13. Requiem over the Holland Deep, 14. Chromatic Opera, 15. The Chromatic Gamelan, 16. The Perestroicum, 17. Breath, a Metaphor, 18. Towards a New Renaissance, 19. The Social Acoustic, 20. The One-Note State, 21. The Personal Note, 22. Self Portrait in B, 23 The Right Note, 24. From Sacred Dollar to Salt Cellar, 25. The Stopera Debacle, 26. Interview with Francis Strauven, 27. All Voters Float, 28. Beyond the Style Breach, 29. A Painful Idyll, 30. Heaven, 31. Epitaph for Walter Maas, Afterword, Appendix, Index


    Peter Schat