Tractatus Politico-Philosophicus : New Directions for the Future Development of Humankind book cover
1st Edition

Tractatus Politico-Philosophicus
New Directions for the Future Development of Humankind

ISBN 9781138066410
Published May 26, 2017 by Routledge
182 Pages

SAVE ~ $13.99
was $69.95
USD $55.96

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

"Our time is the age of postmodernity and of the clash of epochs. But a new age of humanity is rising. It is evolutionity or the evolutionary epoch which replaces modernity and postmodernity."

Tractatus Politico-Philosophicus (Political-Philosophical Treatise) aims to establish the principles of good governance and of a happy society, and to open up new directions for the future development of humankind. W. Julian Korab-Karpowicz demonstrates the necessity of, and provides a guide for, the redirection of humanity. He argues that this paradigm shift must involve changing the character of social life and politics from competitive to cooperative, encouraging moral and intellectual virtues, providing foundations for happy societies, promoting peace among countries and building a strong international community.

Korab-Karpowicz’s seven principles for a happy society are:

  • Cooperation

  • Justice

  • Wise Leadership and Civic Virtues

  • Education for Virtue and Knowledge

  • Good Laws

  • Political Knowledge

  • Continuity of Generations

Table of Contents


I. Politics

II. Human Nature

III. The State

IV. Freedom

V. Solidarity

VI. Sophocracy

VII. The Mystery of Existence

VIII. Time, War and Change

IX. Power and Political Rationalism

X. Conclusion—Seven Principles of a Happy Society

XI. Final Words



View More



W. Julian Korab-Karpowicz is a philosopher and political thinker, professor at Zayed University in Dubai and Lazarski University in Warsaw. He received his doctorate at the University of Oxford. In the early 1980’s, he was a student leader in Poland’s Solidarity movement, and was then awarded a scholarship of the Leadership Development Office of the Presbyterian Church (USA). He is the author of five books, including On the History of Political Philosophy (Routledge, 2016).

Support Material