Values and Intentions: A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind, 1st Edition (Hardback) book cover

Values and Intentions

A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind, 1st Edition

By J. N. Findlay

Routledge

428 pages

Purchasing Options:$ = USD
Paperback: 9781138825680
pub: 2016-09-26
SAVE ~$9.79
$48.95
$39.16
x
Hardback: 9781138825635
pub: 2014-11-03
SAVE ~$36.00
$180.00
$144.00
x
eBook (VitalSource) : 9781315739328
pub: 2014-11-20
from $24.48


FREE Standard Shipping!

Description

Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action.

The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids altogether dogmatic intuitive methods. It argues that an organised framework of ends of action follows from the attitude underlying our moral pronouncements, and that this framework, while allowing personal elaboration, is not a matter for individual decision. The relations connecting our fundamental value-judgements with one another, and the frames of mind behind them, are not rigorously deductive but are sufficiently compelling to be called logical. Something of a ‘transcendental deduction’ of a well-ordered family for our basic heads of valuation is both possible and necessary. The work is further critical of the notion of obligation which has been extended far beyond legal contracts and understandings. The book also contains a chapter on religion.

Table of Contents

Preface 1. Introductory and Programmatic 2. The Basic Modes of Consciousness 3. The Modes of Belief 4. The Modes of Action and Endeavour 5. The Modes of Wish and Will 6. The Values of Welfare 7. Injustice and its Disvalues 8. Duty and Moral Value 9. Epilogue on Religion. Appendix: Henriette Hertz Lecture entitled The Structure of the Kingdom of Ends

About the Series

Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

Reissuing works originally published between 1949 and ‘79, this set presents a rich selection of renowned scholarship across the subject, touching also on ethics, religion, and psychology and other behavioural science. Classic previously out-of-print works are brought back into print here in this set of important discourse and theory.

Learn more…

Subject Categories

BISAC Subject Codes/Headings:
PHI000000
PHILOSOPHY / General